Bits & Clamps

This forum is for users to post tips and tricks they have found useful while working with VCarve Pro
User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4350
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: 24x36 GCnC/WinCNC with ATC
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Contact:

Bits & Clamps

Post by Rcnewcomb »

Be sure to use good quality carbide bits to leave a shiny finish in your clamps when you accidentally hit them.
Attachments
ClampsIMG_2686.jpg
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out
another good day in the shop

User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3410
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Bits & Clamps

Post by highpockets »

laughing emoticon.png
John
Maker of Chips

User avatar
FixitMike
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1739
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 5:21 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shark Pro Plus (retired)
Location: Burien, WA USA

Re: Bits & Clamps

Post by FixitMike »

And, of course, the same for those who have an aluminum T-slot table. (Don't ask.)
Good judgement comes from experience.
Experience comes from bad judgement.

User avatar
Bob Jr
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 393
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 2:13 am
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom, Shark

Re: Bits & Clamps

Post by Bob Jr »

It's like Red Green always said: "If it ain't broke, you're not tryin' hard enough".
"Be accurate."
W. Tell

User avatar
scottp55
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4167
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 11:30 am
Model of CNC Machine: ShopbotDesktop 5.5"Z/spindle/VCP10
Location: Kennebunkport, Maine, US

Re: Bits & Clamps

Post by scottp55 »

Feeds and Speeds are important also...
I got chatter marks when I tried to unclamp my piece(before carving) with the bit at 3IPS Jog. :oops:
Attachments
TORCH FINISH TESTING.jpg
A random act of kindness..
You may forget...they probably won't.

User avatar
Phil
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2574
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 10:56 pm
Location: Pittsfield, MA

Re: Bits & Clamps

Post by Phil »

Randall's tip of the week. :)
Rcnewcomb wrote:
Sun Nov 22, 2020 1:04 am
Be sure to use good quality carbide bits to leave a shiny finish in your clamps when you accidentally hit them.

Phil

Tailmaker
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 380
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 4:40 am
Model of CNC Machine: Home Built 4-axis Router
Location: Fort Collins, CO

Re: Bits & Clamps

Post by Tailmaker »

It is like battle scars, kind of a badge of honor...
DSC02208.JPG
That said, over the years I have learned not to be too skimpy with my blanks and leave a reasonable margin around the machining area for clamping. At the end that is cheaper in terms of broken bits, wasted time and spoiled lumber.
Download Puzzle, Finger Joint and Maze software at https://fabrikisto.com/tailmaker-software/

SteveNelson46
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1079
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 2:43 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger using WinCNC
Location: Tucson, Az.

Re: Bits & Clamps

Post by SteveNelson46 »

I seldom use clamps. Most of the time I screw the workpiece to the spoilboard. Then there is the issue of running into the screw head. Not saying that I've done it but I do have a nice collection of headless screws.
Steve

User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4350
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: 24x36 GCnC/WinCNC with ATC
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Bits & Clamps

Post by Rcnewcomb »

Then there is the issue of running into the screw head. Not saying that I've done it but I do have a nice collection of headless screws.
I'm always amazed at how a 5 cent screw can efficiently destroy a $60 bit. :shock:
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out
another good day in the shop

User avatar
jfederer
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 1:09 am
Model of CNC Machine: CanCam D23M
Location: Horton Township Ontario Canada
Contact:

Re: Bits & Clamps

Post by jfederer »

I made 4 clamps from scrap walnut. Even though I haven't scrapped a cutter for a while, I came close to losing a collet nut.. see burn mark on third clamp. I use drywall screws to screw them to the spoilboard. Usually I just screw down the workpiece if there's enough clearance and use the clamps when I'm not sure about clearance.I now have a spare collet nut, just in case!
.
WoodClamps.jpg
Joe Federer

www.fabrikisto.com incl. Tailmaker software
www.federer.ca

User avatar
jfederer
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 1:09 am
Model of CNC Machine: CanCam D23M
Location: Horton Township Ontario Canada
Contact:

Re: Bits & Clamps

Post by jfederer »

Bob Jr wrote:
Sun Nov 22, 2020 5:22 am
It's like Red Green always said: "If it ain't broke, you're not tryin' hard enough".
I think my wife considers me "handy"... Inside Canadian joke. Great to see a Red Green reference here!
Joe Federer

www.fabrikisto.com incl. Tailmaker software
www.federer.ca

Aussie
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 289
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 1:44 am
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom AR6 Pro
Location: Adelaide Australia

Re: Bits & Clamps

Post by Aussie »

I don’t use clamps very often, most of the time double sided tape, poly nails or a jig.
Over the last 2 years I have broken 2 bits... both hitting clamps and totally my fault.

User avatar
Phil
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2574
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 10:56 pm
Location: Pittsfield, MA

Re: Bits & Clamps

Post by Phil »

Bob Jr wrote:
Sun Nov 22, 2020 5:22 am
It's like Red Green always said: "If it ain't broke, you're not tryin' hard enough".
I've seen Red Green live a couple of times. He is hilarious.

jay pieper
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 4:39 pm
Model of CNC Machine: laguna swift 4x4
Location: Shawano Wisconsin

Re: Bits & Clamps

Post by jay pieper »

come on guys---Red Green would of used duct tape not clamps

User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 1170
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

Re: Bits & Clamps

Post by adze_cnc »

The corollary would be: "I fit doesn't fit, you haven't hit it hard enough".

Post Reply