Box or Frame Clamp

This forum is for users to post tips and tricks they have found useful while working with VCarve Pro
User avatar
lockeyone
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 4:45 am
Model of CNC Machine: other software 50-50 router, Mach3, Epilog 60W
Location: Schofield, Wisconsin, USA
Contact:

Re: Box or Frame Clamp

Post by lockeyone »

Here are my clamps I made. Had some 1 1/8" plywood cutoffs I acquired somewhere years ago and decided this was as good use. I had to use my cnc router to plane them down to size. I first made the original clamp supplied in the file and decided for most of my boxes that I needed a little longer version. So I lengthened one leg of each side and made some extra sliding clamps, maybe too many, but it is better to have too many than not enough. You can see one of the boxes I do. Only question I have is What is the small hole in back clamp (stationary one) for? All else I figured out. Anyway thanks for a great idea for a clamp. Norm
Attachments
FullSizeRender.jpg
FullSizeRender-(1).jpg
FullSizeRender-(2).jpg
FullSizeRender-(3).jpg
FullSizeRender-(4).jpg
If you want to kill time, why not work it to death!

User avatar
scottp55
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3962
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 11:30 am
Model of CNC Machine: ShopbotDesktop 5.5"Z/spindle/VCP10
Location: Kennebunkport, Maine, US

Re: Box or Frame Clamp

Post by scottp55 »

Great Job!
That should last a generation :)
"When in doubt....Zero it out!"
anon saying


scott

User avatar
mikeacg
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 657
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2008 10:53 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger, Sidewinder, SB 4x4
Location: Newberry, MI
Contact:

Re: Box or Frame Clamp

Post by mikeacg »

Very cool idea and should prove very useful in my shop! Another project that will have to wait until after Christmas though! I am slammed with work right now! Thanks for the gift Tailmaker!

Mike :D

glenninvb
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1129
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 4:58 pm
Model of CNC Machine: homebuild / VCP 8.0

Re: Box or Frame Clamp

Post by glenninvb »

I wonder if applying (screwing w/ counter sunk) 1/4" marine starboard or HDPE to the clamp surfaces would be worthwhile?
Especially if using epoxy, or even just wood glue to keep from sticking?

Neat clamp :)

User avatar
lockeyone
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 4:45 am
Model of CNC Machine: other software 50-50 router, Mach3, Epilog 60W
Location: Schofield, Wisconsin, USA
Contact:

Re: Box or Frame Clamp

Post by lockeyone »

I am thinking something similar for mine. I have ideas of snowmobile slides as I always have cut offs when I size mine. Was looking at T edging for counter tops too in plastic. Just haven't decided on a solution yet.
If you want to kill time, why not work it to death!

glenninvb
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1129
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 4:58 pm
Model of CNC Machine: homebuild / VCP 8.0

Re: Box or Frame Clamp

Post by glenninvb »

You can buy 3/4" (or any width) strips pre-cut from these guys, the freight would be the issue. I always have some on hand from full sheets for various boat projects but do order cut pieces from them. Especially if just need some black as we only buy white in sheets

Nothing sticks well to starboard but its very slippery. Might be some on EBAY and HDPE would work as well.
I'm guessing snowmobile slides are similar?

http://www.boatoutfitters.com/cut-to-si ... -starboard

Tailmaker
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 333
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 4:40 am
Model of CNC Machine: Home Built 4-axis Router
Location: Fort Collins, CO

Re: Box or Frame Clamp

Post by Tailmaker »

lockeyone wrote:....... Only question I have is What is the small hole in back clamp (stationary one) for? .........
Oh, forgot to mention because I don't use it myself. It is intended the slip a 1/4" hex nut in. If you drill a hole parallel to the surface you can use a screw through this nut to lock the bracket in place.
But on my clamp there is enough friction that it is not needed.

Nice clamp, btw :)

Tailmaker
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 333
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 4:40 am
Model of CNC Machine: Home Built 4-axis Router
Location: Fort Collins, CO

Re: Box or Frame Clamp

Post by Tailmaker »

glenninvb wrote:I wonder if applying (screwing w/ counter sunk) 1/4" marine starboard or HDPE to the clamp surfaces would be worthwhile?
Especially if using epoxy, or even just wood glue to keep from sticking?

Neat clamp :)
That is a good idea if you are concerned about messy glue jobs. The way the clamp works it does not have to come into contact with the glued corners but I know the glue has a tendency to end up in undesirable places. One could make the entire widget from thick HDPE sheet but that would not be as rigid as the plywood.

User avatar
lockeyone
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 4:45 am
Model of CNC Machine: other software 50-50 router, Mach3, Epilog 60W
Location: Schofield, Wisconsin, USA
Contact:

Re:Clamp officially in service

Post by lockeyone »

OK, used the clamp for the first time. I added some T-molding I got from T-Molding.com (12ft for $15 delivered). Used my 1/6" blade out of my dado set to cut slots and pounded them in with a plastic mallet. I wished the molding was flatter but it still seemed to work. Added knobs that are 2 1/2" diameter. Figured as I get old would be easier to grip, purchased from Amazon. All joints seemed like to were tight after drying. So one more clamp to add to my many clamps. Images of other methods I have used too. This weekend I am using all three pictured on two different size boxes. I have added a few extra clamps in places just because I have them and it just makes me feel better :-).
Thanks again for the clamp idea.
Attachments
clamp-a.jpg
clamp-b.jpg
clamp-c.jpg
clamp-d.jpg
clamp-e.jpg
Plano wall mounted clamp
Plano wall mounted clamp
If you want to kill time, why not work it to death!

glenninvb
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1129
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 4:58 pm
Model of CNC Machine: homebuild / VCP 8.0

Re: Box or Frame Clamp

Post by glenninvb »

lockeyone,

The T edge moulding was a great idea, better than ending up with a clamp/ box assembly when the glue sticks :D

sailfl
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 377
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 3:46 pm
Model of CNC Machine: MechMate
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Box or Frame Clamp

Post by sailfl »

Thank you for sharing you clamp design. Very creative.

Tailmaker
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 333
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 4:40 am
Model of CNC Machine: Home Built 4-axis Router
Location: Fort Collins, CO

Re: Re:Clamp officially in service

Post by Tailmaker »

lockeyone wrote:..... Added knobs that are 2 1/2" diameter. Figured as I get old would be easier to grip, purchased from Amazon..............
Yeah I was on the fence on that. But at some point I just used a battery powered impact driver with a deep socket. Spins the nuts in and out in no time :shock:

Post Reply