Bottoming out a collet nut

This forum is for users to post tips and tricks they have found useful while working with VCarve Pro
User avatar
TReischl
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4766
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 48X36X7 RP 2022 UCCNC Screenset
Location: Leland NC

Re: Bottoming out a collet nut

Post by TReischl »

Tex_Lawrence wrote:
Tue Apr 09, 2024 2:58 pm
Gasawdust wrote:
Tue Apr 09, 2024 2:39 pm
So I guess you are the self appointed moderator of what gets discussed here.
Sheesh.
Yep, if TReischl don't like something, then it gets the TReischl treatment. :shock:
Oh my, the dreaded "TReischl treament" !!!!

It is a little early for it to be snowing. . . . .
"If you see a good fight, get in it." Dr. Vernon Johns

User avatar
martin54
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 7374
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber 48, Triac PC, Isel fixed gantry
Location: Kirkcaldy, Scotland

Re: Bottoming out a collet nut

Post by martin54 »

Read through most of the post & didn't see this mentioned, if you hover over the toolpath in the toolpath list it will tell you the maximum depth that toolpath will cut to which can help with how long the bit you are using needs to be, no it's not collision detection but it can help. :lol: :lol:

User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

Re: Bottoming out a collet nut

Post by adze_cnc »

That information plus a good 6 inch (15cm) rule to measure the amount of the bit sticking out of the collet goes a long way to avoiding crashes. :D

Thanks, Martin, for reminding me that this information exists. I keep forgetting to slow down and hover there and plenty other places in the software... :idea:

Steven

Post Reply