Adding a second component to another component

This section is for useful tips and tricks for Aspire
Post Reply
User avatar
Phil
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2665
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 10:56 pm
Location: Pittsfield, MA

Adding a second component to another component

Post by Phil »

I've been trying different ways to add one component to an existing one. I've found a technique that works well and it's easier than other things I've tried. The wedding rings component is the first item. I created the text component off of the rings and dragged them onto the rings. The rings are from Vectorart3D.
Attachments
Modeling.JPG

User avatar
Phil
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2665
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 10:56 pm
Location: Pittsfield, MA

Re: Adding a second component to another component

Post by Phil »

I'm curious if anyone found this tip useful. I've had problems in some instances combining components. The image attached is a good example of the type of model I've found difficult. I've played with settings such as the base height, limit to height, scale to height, add, subtract, merge. I'm sure it's because I don't understand how to use these settings properly. Anyhow, the method I posted works well every time I've used it.

User avatar
RoutnAbout
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2078
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 11:09 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 18 x 24 Desktop
Location: North Manchester, Indiana

Re: Adding a second component to another component

Post by RoutnAbout »

Phil, I've done that as well. After placing one on top of the other, I've copyied both the components into a working model. Once both are into 1 working model, I'll turn them into a component again.
Roll of Honor <-- Never Forget
________
Don

Post Reply