How appropriate is Aspire for this?

This section is for useful tips and tricks for Aspire
paorawiremu
Model of CNC Machine: Heliner 1325M

How appropriate is Aspire for this?

Post by paorawiremu »

Hi, I'm new to CNC cutting, and I'm still figuring out whether I'm using the correct technology for my intended result.
I have a series of line based images I want to V-Carve, however the intersections and overlapping nodes are causing trouble. I've applied bezier curves and deleted zero length spans, but there are still thousands of the troublesome guys. The DXF file was created through Illustrator.
I've watched many tutorials but they're mostly working on basic shapes that don't seem to apply to this project, which requires an masse approach. If the only solution is to edit them individually then I will have to find different software - hopefully someone out there has some helpful advice?
Image one: Engraving design in Aspire Vector Validator.
Image two: A shallow engraving into paint made using a sandblaster and sandblasting mask - I want to create a more dramatic result by V-Carving instead of sandblasting.
Image three: same as image two.
Attachments
Capture3.JPG
269703230_300646328711262_3138607231599926518_n.jpg
270455244_1040907816467087_8379691225308839162_n (1).jpg

Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: How appropriate is Aspire for this?

Post by Adrian »

Do you really need to v-carve it? By the looks of the intended result using a profile toolpath set to be On the vector with a v-bit would give you very similar results and you wouldn't need to worry about the overlaps.

jfederer
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: CanCam D23M

Post by jfederer »