Surprisingly complex 3d shape

This section is for useful tips and tricks for Aspire
Ryan@GWP
Model of CNC Machine: Laguna Smartshop II

Surprisingly complex 3d shape

Post by Ryan@GWP »

Hello everyone, hoping you guys can assist on a bit of 3d modeling that I'm finding is more complex then I first realized.

Quick background so you all know where I'm at. I've been using Aspire for about 5 years with my company but we recently started diving into 3d modeling within the last year to year and a half.

Here is how I got to where I am...

First I modeled a spin and turn for the x axis arc
Second I use a 2 rail sweep for the arc across the y axis on a second level

I will attach images of or desired shape and what I'm actually getting...

Any tips/tricks/advice will be appreciated.
Thank you.
Attachments
Help_Image.pdf
(24.29 KiB) Downloaded 82 times
Help-3d.jpg

adze_cnc
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008

Re: Surprisingly complex 3d shape

Post by adze_cnc »

The attached was done using Rhinoceros 3D using three intersecting extrusions and two Boolean operations (see image survey). I didn't bother modelling in the hole and the counterbore as those can be effected by using a 2D profile path (and/or pocket).
Curves to extrude
Curves to extrude
Triple extruded surfaces
Triple extruded surfaces
Boolean 2 Objects
Boolean 2 Objects
Boolean remaining 2 objects
Boolean remaining 2 objects
Attachments
triple-extrusion.zip
(159.25 KiB) Downloaded 59 times

dealguy11
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Anderson Selexx 510

Post by dealguy11 »

Here is an example in Aspire. I didn't put the hole in it either - it should probably be made with 2d toolpaths.