Page 1 of 1

x,y axes orientation on screen

Posted: Thu Sep 03, 2020 10:05 pm
by 2C3D4U
Is there any way of having the Y axis run horizontal when Aspire boots? I frequently work with long rectangles in the order of 1.4 X 3.5 meters and having Y oriented vertically with a CNC machine that sees Y as the long axis is quite a nuisance. When I rotate the geometries to post, the considerable scale difference between X and Y makes the drawings awkward.

Re: x,y axes orientation on screen

Posted: Thu Sep 03, 2020 10:10 pm
by TReischl
This subject has been pounded to paste in the past on this forum.

Re: x,y axes orientation on screen

Posted: Thu Sep 03, 2020 10:24 pm
by adze_cnc
The pasty version:

View in Aspire---no. Can alter post processor to flip axes.

Re: x,y axes orientation on screen

Posted: Thu Sep 03, 2020 11:28 pm
by mtylerfl
2C3D4U wrote:
Thu Sep 03, 2020 10:05 pm
Is there any way of having the Y axis run horizontal when Aspire boots? I frequently work with long rectangles in the order of 1.4 X 3.5 meters and having Y oriented vertically with a CNC machine that sees Y as the long axis is quite a nuisance. When I rotate the geometries to post, the considerable scale difference between X and Y makes the drawings awkward.
Hi,

This MIGHT be a possible solution for your viewing comfort after rotating your job layout vertically...

Some desktop monitors support physically rotating from “landscape orientation” to a “portrait orientation” (similar to your cell phone). If you have one (or purchase one), try rotating the monitor itself, then adjust the Vectric software window to “go vertical long-wise” to match the monitor after rotating your job.

Re: x,y axes orientation on screen

Posted: Fri Sep 04, 2020 12:57 am
by mtylerfl
For example, here is one model that can be pivoted from landscape to portrait orientation, as needed:

https://m.tigerdirect.com/applications/ ... CatId=5469

And another:

https://www.staples.com/lg-22bl450y-b-2 ... EUQAvD_BwE

Re: x,y axes orientation on screen

Posted: Tue Apr 13, 2021 1:36 am
by 2C3D4U
"If you have one (or purchase one), try rotating the monitor itself, then adjust the Vectric software window to “go vertical long-wise” to match the monitor after rotating your job."
Belated thanks for your reply. If you see this, please explaing what is specifically entailed in "adjusting the Vectric softwarer window to "go vertical long-wise". Where is that option found? I've never tripped over it.

Thank you, anton