Coping Crown Molding

This section is for useful tips and tricks for Aspire
Dale1944
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Router Homemade

Coping Crown Molding

Post by Dale1944 »

I have been putting on installing crown molding in the master bedroom for some time because I need to cope several corners. I don't want to fiddle with a coping saw or an angle grinder or a Dremel tool. I would think that this could be done on my CNC. Has anyone done this? I searched but could find nothing.

highpockets
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Coping Crown Molding

Post by highpockets »

You can get the necessary angles from this site.
https://www.blocklayer.com/crown-molding.aspx

Seems like a whole lot of trouble, but what ever...
John
Maker of Chips

JoeBlow
Vectric Craftsman
Model of CNC Machine: AxiomAR6Pro

Post by JoeBlow »

Now this is a very interesting question. As a Finish Carpenter by trade, I install a huge amount of crown molding each year. My favorite task actually :D How cool would that be for me to pull a cnc out of my work van at the jobsite and start coping joints. lol

I actually think this is feasible though. Enough so that I will give this a try (not the part about bringing my cnc to work).

The hard part I think will be to bring the appropriate profile into the software. These are the steps I will try....
1. Cut an inside 45*. Keep in mind that the majority of crown has a 38* spring angle so reference the chart Highpockets linked and utilize the numbers for cutting crown on the flat. I never do the upside down and backwards game myself. Much greater control cutting on the flat in my opinion.
2. Now I can accurately measure the profile. This will certainly require some trial and error. Assuming I'm using standard 5 1/4" crown, I will need to transfer the cove, step and ogee into the software.