Greyscale model making

This section is for useful tips and tricks for Aspire
BillK
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark Pro Plus

Greyscale model making

Post by BillK »

Not sure if this has been explored before, did a search and didn't see anything exactly like it.

I'm a Mechanical Engineer and not an artist and I like to understand the Engineering behind art because some times there is a lot of it.
I first mentioned using an iPad to help balance out light and shadows in some photos that I used here to make this stained glass project. viewtopic.php?f=29&t=33911&hilit=stained+glass

So I decided to make a test pattern on the iPad, it's the Engineering thing to do, just going across a grey scale of colors from white to black. Here are the results.
greyscale pattern
greyscale pattern
resultant texture scale to .5" high
resultant texture scale to .5" high
So as you can see, black is low, white is highest and greys are in between depending on their shade.

Then I decided to see how I might apply this to model making.
Here is a nice outdoor picture of a handsome seagull who was very happy to pose for me one day for a close up photo.
seagull photo
seagull photo
Here is the resultant model just by bringing in this photo for a texture file.
texture from photo
texture from photo
Without a ton of modifying in Aspire, you can tell that is not going to make it as a nice carving. The shadows are killing most of it and the seagull coloring is killing the rest.

Then that's when the idea comes into make the greyscale picture of this scene.

This is my first attempt. Not quite there, still feeling my way as to the shading.
1st greyscale
1st greyscale
1st greyscale texture
1st greyscale texture
An encouraging improvement for sure. Now I can see the range of grey may not have to be as wide spread to make this model.
BillK
https://www.facebook.com/CarvingsByKurtz

BillK
Vectric Wizard

Re: Greyscale model making

Post by BillK »