where to put textures

This section is for useful tips and tricks for Aspire
Post Reply
User avatar
Xxray
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2147
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 8:47 am
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster Stinger 1
Location: MI USA

where to put textures

Post by Xxray »

have some texture bmp I would like to add to aspire, have done it before but I been tearing through folders and am unable to figure ouit where to put them - am using 8.5 windows 10
Doug

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10583
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: where to put textures

Post by Adrian »

I put mine in Public Document\Vectric Files\Material Images

User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4951
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48,Denford Triac Modified
Location: Crossgates, Scotland

Re: where to put textures

Post by martin54 »

What do you want to do with them? If it is just for visual purposes then you can save them in the material images folders as Adrian has said.
If they are ones you want to be able to machine then you would need to save them as 3Dclip files first I believe. That is what I have done in the past at least :lol: :lol:
I exported them as 3dclip files & then added them to the non tileable textures folder within the clipart.

User avatar
Xxray
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2147
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 8:47 am
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster Stinger 1
Location: MI USA

Re: where to put textures

Post by Xxray »

martin54 wrote:What do you want to do with them? If it is just for visual purposes then you can save them in the material images folders as Adrian has said.
If they are ones you want to be able to machine then you would need to save them as 3Dclip files first I believe. That is what I have done in the past at least :lol: :lol:
I exported them as 3dclip files & then added them to the non tileable textures folder within the clipart.

Ok I'm a tard, how do you export as 3dclip, I don't see the option. I'm showing eps, dfx,ai and and svg.
Doug

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10583
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: where to put textures

Post by Adrian »

3Dclip is an export format for models and you access it by right clicking on a model in the Component tree.

User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3957
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: GCnC/WinCNC
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Contact:

Re: where to put textures

Post by Rcnewcomb »

The 3Dclip format is one of those hidden gems in Aspire. Saving your 3D textures is a good idea. I also convert my STL files to 3Dclip format. This makes them much easier to work with since the 3Dclip format works and plays well with the clipart tab for organizing 3D clip art.
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out
another good day in the shop

User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4951
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48,Denford Triac Modified
Location: Crossgates, Scotland

Re: where to put textures

Post by martin54 »

Rcnewcomb wrote:The 3Dclip format is one of those hidden gems in Aspire. Saving your 3D textures is a good idea. I also convert my STL files to 3Dclip format. This makes them much easier to work with since the 3Dclip format works and plays well with the clipart tab for organizing 3D clip art.
Never thought about converting STL files, thanks Randall :lol: :lol: Converting them to 3D clip files means they will show up as thumbnails in the clipart folder, something that would be quite handy :lol: :lol: :lol:

Post Reply