Toolpath created boarder.

This section is for useful tips and tricks for Aspire
Post Reply
grahamd
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 8:56 pm
Model of CNC Machine: shopbot buddy 32
Location: Lewisville, NC

Toolpath created boarder.

Post by grahamd »

Good day to all,
I am cutting 3d probe files of instrument tops and backs. The slightly recessed boarder that the toolpath function puts on the edge of the cut is a major problem. Is there a way to create a toolpath that does not do this without cutting to the edge of the material?
Thank you, Graham

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10459
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Toolpath created boarder.

Post by Adrian »

Have you added a Zero Plane to your project?

grahamd
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 8:56 pm
Model of CNC Machine: shopbot buddy 32
Location: Lewisville, NC

Re: Toolpath created border.

Post by grahamd »

Yes. On the inside, top or back of a mandolin, zero is at the surface, top, of the material. I am trying to get a cut that removes the concavity and leaves the remainder of the wood as is. If I cut just the concavity there is that slightly recessed border cut around the perimeter, If I cut to the edge of the model, there is the slight border cut around the perimeter. That slight border cut is what I am trying to get rid of. The only way I have found to get what I want is to cut to the edge of the material. Takes much longer.
Thanks, Graham

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10459
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Toolpath created boarder.

Post by Adrian »

This is the explanation I was remembering - http://forum.vectric.com/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=6474 - it pre-dates the Zero Plane function (it's created manually in the explanation) but the logic is still true.

Have you got a value in the Boundary Offset part of the finishing toolpath? That should be the radius of the ball nose.

grahamd
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 8:56 pm
Model of CNC Machine: shopbot buddy 32
Location: Lewisville, NC

Re: Toolpath created boarder.

Post by grahamd »

Yes. Offset .25.

grahamd
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 8:56 pm
Model of CNC Machine: shopbot buddy 32
Location: Lewisville, NC

Re: Toolpath created boarder.

Post by grahamd »

Very good post you sent. Guess what I am trying to do is eliminate the boundary.

grahamd
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 8:56 pm
Model of CNC Machine: shopbot buddy 32
Location: Lewisville, NC

Re: Toolpath created boarder.

Post by grahamd »

Think I may have realized an error I made. Will generate a toolpath and see. Thank you Adrian.

Post Reply