Adding the 3rd dimension to a building

This section is for useful tips and tricks for Aspire
Fleming
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 334
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 3:41 pm

Adding the 3rd dimension to a building

Post by Fleming »

Creating a Simple Barn Structure using 2 Rail Sweeps to add Z heights to XY Drawings

This is a step by step lesson I created for my own use to give dimension to common building shapes. Using these concepts one can generate the components needed to relief carve houses, barns, or other buildings. Attached is a PDF of the steps used. There is an Aspire 8.5 file in my Dropbox if you care to download that. The folder name is Creating A Simple Barn and is located at https://www.dropbox.com/l/scl/tDbb2aH1NbxbGjw6kGb9Qo
(I am new at this Dropbox thing so I hope this link works :lol: )

Will try to answer any questions.
Building a 3D Barn.pdf
Creating A Simple Barn
(499.06 KiB) Downloaded 406 times

User avatar
mezalick
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2539
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 9:07 am
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Cobra
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Adding the 3rd dimension to a building

Post by mezalick »

Fleming,
I like your approach to a complex design issue..
Thanks for your time putting this together..
Michael
Michael Mezalick
https://carveddetails.com
mm@mezalick.com

User avatar
sawmiller
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 493
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 8:34 pm
Model of CNC Machine: joe's rack and pinion hybrid
Location: camden,tn

Re: Adding the 3rd dimension to a building

Post by sawmiller »

will look at it, thanks for taking the time
woodmizer sawmill and joe's hybrid cnc, a good combination
In the heart of Tn

Fleming
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 334
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 3:41 pm

Re: Adding the 3rd dimension to a building

Post by Fleming »

Finished barn is now available at the dropbox site:
https://www.dropbox.com/l/scl/tDbb2aH1NbxbGjw6kGb9Qo

Below is the picture used to develop the 3D review version shown.

In the Aspire 8.5 file "Shared Finished Barn" there are 2 sets of 3D objects - Main Barn Bare which is the general shapes needed so you can "paint" your own barn with different materials and Barn Scene which is my "painted" version. Hopefully I will do a carving in the next few days after I add a cow or something! :)

Enjoy. If you use please post what you did :D
Finished Barn.jpg
Barn Picture.jpg

User avatar
JamesB
Vectric Alumni
Posts: 1257
Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 1:24 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Exel CNC SL60/90 Pro
Location: Warwickshire, UK

Re: Adding the 3rd dimension to a building

Post by JamesB »

Fleming - nice model and explanation of your method.
Thanks,
James

spyderxxx
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 11:51 am
Model of CNC Machine: my own design
Location: Cambridge Ontario

Re: Adding the 3rd dimension to a building

Post by spyderxxx »

tries to see file in Dropbox but required your password.

Ed

Fleming
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 334
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 3:41 pm

Re: Adding the 3rd dimension to a building

Post by Fleming »

Sorry about that Ed - I am new to this Dropbox thing.

The PW is w00dw0rk

Those are zero's - not o's

User avatar
scottp55
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3589
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 11:30 am
Model of CNC Machine: ShopbotDesktop 5.5"Z/spindle/VCP10
Location: Kennebunkport, Maine, US

Re: Adding the 3rd dimension to a building

Post by scottp55 »

"improper e-mail or password" ?
Used the "0"'s on all "o"'s
Thanks for file by the way :)
scott
"One accurate measurement is worth a thousand expert opinions"

GMH


scott

NathanD

Re: Adding the 3rd dimension to a building

Post by NathanD »

Fleming wrote:Sorry about that Ed - I am new to this Dropbox thing.

The PW is w00dw0rk

Those are zero's - not o's
Flemming,

You've shared a link to the content but it's a personal link, meaning only you can see it unless people request access! If you wish to share content from Dropbox, right click it within your dropbox file selection (picture below) and you can share it by the rainbow prefixed icon. You can also press the blue share button features on the right hand side of that files section.

Image

after this, you can press the "Create Link" (unfortunately I've previously shared this file, so the below screenshot does not show this but my mouse is in the right place)

Image

and once you're done, copy that link and you can share that with anyone and it'll be publicly available.

Fleming
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 334
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 3:41 pm

Re: Adding the 3rd dimension to a building

Post by Fleming »

Nathan - many thanks for the info on Dropbox -

Here is the link I created. Hope it works for everyone.

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/ccj2azlchd3u ... iin-a?dl=0

User avatar
scottp55
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3589
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 11:30 am
Model of CNC Machine: ShopbotDesktop 5.5"Z/spindle/VCP10
Location: Kennebunkport, Maine, US

Re: Adding the 3rd dimension to a building

Post by scottp55 »

Fleming,
Any chance to export as an .stl to that dropbox?
Us VCP8 guys would like it!
Many thanks for the effort!!
scott
"One accurate measurement is worth a thousand expert opinions"

GMH


scott

User avatar
jarm2
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 9:16 pm
Model of CNC Machine: C&CNC electronics
Location: Harpster, Idaho

Re: Adding the 3rd dimension to a building

Post by jarm2 »

Thanks for sharing the barn file. It looks pretty cool in the 3D preview. I will add it to one of my projects soon and see how it carves.
Vectric Aspire 10, AutoCAD lite, Corel Draw 2019, ViaCAD Pro 9, W 10

Fleming
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 334
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 3:41 pm

Re: Adding the 3rd dimension to a building

Post by Fleming »

Scott,

I posted in Dropbox an STL version as requested -actually 2 of them - one is just the barn (Old Barn STL2) and the other one is the barn on a grass hill (Old Barn with Grass STL). Also posted Vectric 3DClip file of just the barn (Shared Finished Barn Clipart). Hopefully one of these will work for you.

Paul

COWBOY1296
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 660
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 10:03 pm
Model of CNC Machine: SHOPBOT BUDDY PRS 32, 4 FT PWR STICK
Location: SOUTH CENTRAL COLORADO

Re: Adding the 3rd dimension to a building

Post by COWBOY1296 »

thanks for the file, you did a great job.

User avatar
scottp55
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3589
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 11:30 am
Model of CNC Machine: ShopbotDesktop 5.5"Z/spindle/VCP10
Location: Kennebunkport, Maine, US

Re: Adding the 3rd dimension to a building

Post by scottp55 »

Thank you VERY much Paul!! :)
Downloaded both .stl's :)
Appreciate the effort on your part!
scott
"One accurate measurement is worth a thousand expert opinions"

GMH


scott

Post Reply