Page 1 of 1

Handrail profile

Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2016 12:39 am
by djcregan
Hi
I have been asked to price to produce a handrail as the attached detail.
There's a few hundred metres of it required in Oak.
I don't currently use Aspire, I have Vcarve pro 8.

I don't think Vcarve can really do it.

I was just enquiringly if anyone out there has had good experience with Aspire producing similar mouldings.

One of my concerns is machining time, I guess this could be reduced by bespoke tooling.
I have a linear 8 tool ATC router so I could set up the tools as required.

Any advise would be much appreciated.

Re: Handrail profile

Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2016 1:39 am
by FixitMike
Personally,I believe a shaper would be the proper machine, with custom cutters. The 15 degree slope could be rough cut on a bandsaw, and then finished on a planer with a sloped guide on the table. You might even be able to use thicker wood and cut two rails from one piece. The 15mm r between the slope and flat would just be approximated by sanding.



PS. That makes a lousy handrail. Very difficult to hold onto. It won't meet code many places in the US.

Re: Handrail profile

Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2016 1:44 am
by Rcnewcomb
There's a few hundred metres of it required in Oak.
This would require two sided machining.
This would be faster and more accurate on a moulder with a the appropriate moulding knife setup, or even a router table. Using a CNC on this project would be a bit like filling a bathtub with a teaspoon.

Re: Handrail profile

Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2016 3:18 am
by ger21
Definitely a job for a moulder.
Maybe $500 in knives, and you can run a few hundred meters in an hour.

Re: Handrail profile

Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2016 3:16 pm
by maineshops
Two saw cuts and one router bit will accomplish that rail. There are a lot of jobs that are not suited to the CNBC and this is one of them as pointed out by others. I constantly want to use the CNBC because it's fun but I have to pull myself up short on projects like this. Dan

Re: Handrail profile

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 3:02 am
by sawmiller
lacking a molder, i would use my woodmizer as a resaw, the tablesaw , and a router to make this, way too slow on the cnc

Re: Handrail profile

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 9:35 am
by djcregan
Hi
Thanks for your contributions.
I think the general conclusion is that it's the wrong machine for the job.
I feared the same but thought I would ask. I've also been looking at a woodmaster with side routers to make it 3 sided.
Looks like this wold work.

Cheers.