using aspire with a digitizing table for a horse build

This section is for useful tips and tricks for Aspire
Post Reply
stankern
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 548
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 3:21 pm
Location: ontario canada

using aspire with a digitizing table for a horse build

Post by stankern »

drawing board digitizing parts

started by making a 8 in cardboard model,then a 24inch heavy cardboard model and then a full size 1/4 plywood profile
after all sorts of changes I have the horse on cart ready for shaping out of solid wood
24 pieces of 2x6's laminated and fitted all glue mostly as I will be using a 4.5 grinder with a carbide head and I don't want to hit a screw.
His name is penetangore and he is 12 hands high ,and in the spring he will be tied up to my front gate outside the shop
watching the traffic go by
But the work is just starting
Attachments
net_head.jpg
IMG_0171.JPG
IMG_0016.JPG
IMG_0008.JPG

ozymax
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 207
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 4:34 am
Model of CNC Machine: Home built cnc router using Mach3.

Re: using aspire with a digitizing table for a horse build

Post by ozymax »

I'm used to seeing jobs with lots of clamps being used for glueing, but when it's a horses head in the clamps, it just looks wrong. :(
All that aside, I can't wait to see the finised horse.

stankern
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 548
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 3:21 pm
Location: ontario canada

Re: using aspire with a digitizing table for a horse build

Post by stankern »

never thought of the pain

stankern
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 548
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 3:21 pm
Location: ontario canada

Re: using aspire with a digitizing table for a horse build

Post by stankern »

part 2......................


stankern
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 548
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 3:21 pm
Location: ontario canada

Re: using aspire with a digitizing table for a horse build

Post by stankern »

the horse called "penetangore " is coming along slowly as I am shaping him in the unheated part of the shop as its very messy
using grinders with various heads and 2 chainsaws
I hope to have him tied to my gate in front of the shop this spring
he is 12 hands high and a young Arabian horse
Attachments
net3.jpg
net2.jpg
net1.jpg

stankern
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 548
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 3:21 pm
Location: ontario canada

Re: using aspire with a digitizing table for a horse build

Post by stankern »

part 3 of the horse build called penetangore "a mare"

Attachments
net6.jpg
net5.jpg
net4.jpg
net3.jpg
net3.jpg
net2.jpg

User avatar
FixitMike
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1634
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 5:21 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shark Pro Plus (retired)
Location: Burien, WA USA

Re: using aspire with a digitizing table for a horse build

Post by FixitMike »

Just a side note: If you need to use any screws and are afraid you might hit one, use brass screws. The bit will go right through them when necessary.
Good judgement comes from experience.
Experience comes from bad judgement.

stankern
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 548
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 3:21 pm
Location: ontario canada

Re: using aspire with a digitizing table for a horse build

Post by stankern »

excellent idea bit late though, brass is better

Post Reply