A different way to do a two rail sweep

This section is for useful tips and tricks for Aspire
Post Reply
M Queen
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 9:25 pm
Model of CNC Machine: WinCNC Hybrid
Location: Buckhannon, WV, USA
Contact:

A different way to do a two rail sweep

Post by M Queen »

I've decided to share a few videos I have made over the years. Hopefully they will give someone some ideas.

Here's are a couple of videos I did about a year ago. I used a two rail sweep to create a bowl.
It started as one video and was so long I decided to split it into two parts.

In the first part, I worked out my cross section.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bvNNvR07psA

In the second part, I did my two rail sweep.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cGq2CCO0oW0
Mike Queen
Microsystems World CNC (WinCNC)
https://www.youtube.com/user/cncMike304

User avatar
TReischl
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3568
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 Build 48X36X10 RP 2010 Screenset
Location: Leland NC

Re: A different way to do a two rail sweep

Post by TReischl »

Mike,

I am curious, do you see any advantage to doing it the way you show in the video?
"If you see a good fight, get in it." Dr. Vernon Jones

User avatar
Mike-S
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1115
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 6:45 am
Model of CNC Machine: Joe's Hybrid 4x4 (but 3x3)
Location: Hayesville, NC

Re: A different way to do a two rail sweep

Post by Mike-S »

You can get the same result with two semi-circles touching at 0 and 180. The way you did it (full circles), it would be logical for the resulting model to be twice as thick as the third rail's geometry since it passes over itself a second time as it goes passed 180 and around to 360 deg. Vectric must have coded so as to prevent the additional Z height in cases like this.
Still, it's an interesting approach.

Post Reply