How to make a puzzle/interlocking pieces

This section is for useful tips and tricks for Aspire
ARDesign
Model of CNC Machine: CamMaster Stinger IV

How to make a puzzle/interlocking pieces

Post by ARDesign »

Hi! I'm new to the world of CNC and am looking for some advice on how to make interlocking puzzle pieces or tessellations... I have done some research and played on my machine, but haven't found a good tutorial or group of suggestions just yet. I have caught on to the fact that one method is to "cheat" the machining some and specify a slightly smaller tool diameter than what you're using, but that's about it....

Does anyone have any good tips, suggestions, or links to one can best make a tight tessellating pattern without voids?

Thanks in advance!!!

AR

Ms Wolffie
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Blue Elephant 1325, Shark HD Pro

Re: How to make a puzzle/interlocking pieces

Post by Ms Wolffie »

Have a look here.
There is only 1 answer to the post but I believe it answers your question
http://forum.vectric.com/viewtopic.php? ... le#p148029
Cheers
Wolffie

Whatshammacallit
Cut3D, VCarvePro 6.5, Aspire4, PhotoVCarve, Corel Graphics Suite X6

glenninvb
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: homebuild / VCP 8.0

Post by glenninvb »

You can use the "solid" preview to verify the tool fits your vector

graffix11
Vectric Craftsman
Model of CNC Machine: Two machines, CRP 48x96 and a xylotex

Post by graffix11 »

Heres a alphabet puzzle snake I put together for my kids. I put together the original design then sort of exploded the design with a bunch of node editing and separating the pieces. All the lines were just drawn on and smoothed out in Aspire. Then used a bit small enough to get in all the areas.
Attachments
alpha snake 2.JPG
alpha snake.JPG

ckurak
Vectric Apprentice
Model of CNC Machine: PRT12060

Post by ckurak »

AR,

Try a search on this forum for "puzzle joint" and you will find a few things that may be helpful. It might be worth a try.