Reversing X & Y on CNC -- Any Problems

This section is for useful tips and tricks for Aspire
Post Reply
Roy50
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 5:09 pm
Model of CNC Machine: cnc3040

Reversing X & Y on CNC -- Any Problems

Post by Roy50 »

Hi

I use my machine from the side, current Y long axis, but keep getting confused when on the Aspire screen the longest edge is on the bottom of screen, X axis, i.e where I stand using cnc.

Are there any bad bits if I just swap over X & Y in mach3 ? I assume it will keep the Mach3 set ups the same, ie measured step moves ?

Roy

User avatar
zeeway
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 9:24 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Self-built
Location: SC, USA

Re: Reversing X & Y on CNC -- Any Problems

Post by zeeway »

If you swap x and y in Mach3, the steps per inch that you have set in Mach3 for old x will go to new x, etc. So just swap the steps per inch also.

Angie

User avatar
TReischl
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3386
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 Build 48X36X10 RP 2010 Screenset
Location: Leland NC

Re: Reversing X & Y on CNC -- Any Problems

Post by TReischl »

If you are running Mach 3 and using soft limits, you might want to double check them after making the swap.

CarveOne
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1386
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 5:10 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Home built designs - 3'x4' and 5'x12'
Location: Eastern NC, USA
Contact:

Re: Reversing X & Y on CNC -- Any Problems

Post by CarveOne »

I work from the right side of my machine. X is the 12' long axis, Y is the short 5' axis and Mach3 is set up to match the Y and Y display on screen. It does lessen the confusion for me. (Some days everything just seems to be backwards anyway :oops: )

Also change the keyboard jog key setup in Mach3 to match the new orientation.

CarveOne
CarveOne
http://www.carveonecncwoodcraft.com

Post Reply