Painting polystyrene(pink insulation) foam suggestions?

This section is for useful tips and tricks for Aspire
John Murphy
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 5010

Painting polystyrene(pink insulation) foam suggestions?

Post by John Murphy »

Hello.

I am wondering what primer and finish would work best on polystyrene.

I am quoting a job that is essentially a giant puzzle made from multiple layers of polystyrene foam. It will be 7' in diameter and 18" thick. The idea is to have a person assemble the simple puzzle in a given time.

I am concerned about the finish holding up over repeated handling. I have considered the "abracadabra Smooth" product, but I have never used this before, and I'm not sure I want to test it out on this size of a project.

I know Gerry from Quebec showed me something when he last visited, but it's been so long, I can't remember what he called it.

If you have any suggestions, it would be greatly appreciated.

John

rej
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: 2014 roc-tech 4x8 with servos

Re: Painting polystyrene(pink insulation) foam suggestions?

Post by rej »

you might look at getting some styrospray. it can be brushed on.
i have used it on the pink foam with good results.
i have purchased abracadabra before, it is very expensive in my opinion. it works well, i'll give them that much. but wow, it was alot of money.
http://www.3dsigncamp.com
http://www.roctechusacnc.com

Gerry Perrault
Vectric Apprentice

Post by Gerry Perrault »

Hi John
This is Gerry from Granby Quebec,i will try to go back at Ontario Meeting, if i am not too loaded. I really have enjoyed that meeting with all the other CNC guys.
To come back to the subject, here is the name of the company that sells the product that you need for that job.:Polymeres Technologies , 1-866-799-3058 (polymerestechnologies.com)