Adjusting machining time

This section is for useful tips and tricks for Aspire
Post Reply
Aintright
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed May 01, 2019 3:23 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD5

Adjusting machining time

Post by Aintright »

In Aspire My machining times are so far off, I know it's just an estimate but mine are like 12 hours off. Is their a way to adjust it as far as the speed factor? :?:

All help will be greatly appreciated :D

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10626
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Adjusting machining time

Post by Adrian »

Yes. There is a scale factor field. You need to adjust that to reflect what you're seeing in the real world. Make sure the rapid rate is correct as well although that has a lesser impact. You'll need several different scale factors depending on the type/size of job.
scale.png

Tigerflyer
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 5:14 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNCRouterparts PRO4896

Re: Adjusting machining time

Post by Tigerflyer »

How do you get a scale factor less than 1? I can make it anything larger than 1... like 2.0 or 1.5

But it won't accept anything less than 1.0??? The estimate for my rapids and feeds gives an hour and twenty minute estimate. Actual cut time is 27 minutes..

But it wont let me adjust it to be faster.

User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3969
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: GCnC/WinCNC
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Adjusting machining time

Post by Rcnewcomb »

Make sure your Rapid Rate is set to something meaningful. If the rapid rate is too slow (such as 1 inch per minute) then the times will be too long.

Set it to something like 240 IPM, or whatever your machine runs at for rapid moves.
Attachments
RapidBad.PNG
RapidGood.PNG
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out
another good day in the shop

Tigerflyer
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 5:14 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNCRouterparts PRO4896

Re: Adjusting machining time

Post by Tigerflyer »

Rapids on my machine and in Aspire are set to 600 ipm. I guess I could lie and put in 800 and see if that gets it closer and adjust it back up after with the scaling. Right now my machine runs about 15% faster than the estimate. But there no way to scale faster.

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10626
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Adjusting machining time

Post by Adrian »

Seems very odd to me that it's running faster than the estimate. The estimate (as far as I know) takes no account of acceleration/deceleration as it has no idea what those settings are on your machine so I would have thought the estimate would always be slower unless you're cutting very simple jobs. Are you sure the machine is using the feed rates you've programmed in Aspire and not some of it's own?

User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3969
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: GCnC/WinCNC
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Adjusting machining time

Post by Rcnewcomb »

Double-check the UNITS on the rapid rate of the timing screen. If it is set to mm/min instead of inches/min that can make a difference.
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out
another good day in the shop

User avatar
TReischl
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3652
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 Build 48X36X10 RP 2010 Screenset
Location: Leland NC

Re: Adjusting machining time

Post by TReischl »

One other thing I can think of:

Make sure you do not have your feedrate override set to something other than 100%.
"If you see a good fight, get in it." Dr. Vernon Jones

Aintright
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed May 01, 2019 3:23 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD5

Re: Adjusting machining time

Post by Aintright »

Thank You all

Post Reply