Datum offset for one side only in a two-sided project?

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire
fooyay
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko Pro XXL

Datum offset for one side only in a two-sided project?

Post by fooyay »

Hello everyone, I'm still learning the ropes and have mostly got the hang of two-sided projects, except for one issue I'm trying to figure out in order to streamline things, because I'm trying to make the process more repeatable so I can churn these items out a bit more quickly and reliably.

I use the asymmetrical dowel method to flip my pieces and it works very well. I have a corner jig set up on my machine (Shapeoko Pro XXL) to position every job I do at the same XY zero. This just saves me from having to reset my zero as often, since most of my projects will work fine from that same starting point.

Is there a way for me to offset just the BOTTOM toolpaths on my two-sided jobs? I run into two issues right now:

1.) If I keep using the same corner jig, real estate is going to get tight in that area when it comes to dowel holes for different projects.
2.) If my stock doesn't perfectly match the dimensions I have in Aspire, when I go to flip it, the jig can interfere, causing me to have to remove the jig and reset it after the job is done, which defeats the purpose of having it.

I've tried using the XY Datum Offset option, but found that it offsets the entire job, and not just the side I'm currently working on. I thought to maybe move my toolpaths to a new sheet, but that messes a bit with the two-sided workflow that I'd like to preserve if possible.

Should I just virtually increase the size of my stock in Aspire? i.e. if my stock is usually 32(x)"x5(y)"x0.75(z)", could I get away with making it 32x10x0.75 in Aspire, so when I go to flip it on the CNC, it thinks it's cutting higher up?