Two questions on vector welding and toolpath tweaking.

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire
Oniell121
Model of CNC Machine: Stepcraft D840

Two questions on vector welding and toolpath tweaking.

Post by Oniell121 »

Hello!

My name is Nathaniel. I an new to the CNC world but have been doing modeling in other software for a time. I am new to Vectric aspire and am trialing this as the suggestion of some friends in the CNC world. Been having a lot of fun learning my Stepcraft so far.

I am trying to learn the software by duplicating, entirely in Aspire, a design I did in fusion. So far I am finding Aspire easier to work with for CNC woodcraft than fusion, but there are a couple things I’m getting a bit stuck on.

I am creating a flag design with a desire for a finished product that looks something like this:

Where the top strips is not carved out but every other one is. The union back is also carved out to the same depth as in the middle of the inner circle in the USAF logo. The ring should not be carved and the text engraved.
I began by creating the union with a rectangle as the proper dimensions and drawing the stars and duplicating them as needed. I then drew the rectangles for the carved stripes and using the vector snipping scissors to trim them out of the inner circles.

Here’s my issue, this obviously created an open vector. But when I attempt to weld these vectors to the outer circle, this happens:

Question 1:
What’s the best workflow for doing this in Aspire and maintaining that outer circle?

I was able to solve this by redrawing the circle and scaling my center design down, creating a gap, which may or may not be stylish, but isn’t what I want. When I did this, it brought up my second question.

Question 2:
Why are the toolpaths generated leaving a small amount of material at one end of the project but not the other?

I am not CAD/CAM expert, so I feel like I’m very likely missing something basic here.