.stl model - features I don't understand.

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire
RobSm
Vectric Apprentice
Model of CNC Machine: Chinese 6090

.stl model - features I don't understand.

Post by RobSm »

HI.
I have been given an .stl model. I have never used them before - usually I do my own either in Rhino or Aspire/Vcarve.

Having imported and aligned the model I find three entries in the modelling tab - tabs. limit plane and the model.

Nothing appears to happen when I turn the tab or limit plane on or off -

Can anyone recommend a Vectric tutorial/s that covers these features because I want to know wtf they do before I put anything on the machine.

As far as appearances go the model seems to cut acceptably, but I'm flying blind to a large extent.

Thanks,Rob
Attachments
Screen Shot 2021-06-20 at 7.30.29 pm.png

ohiolyons
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Laguna IQ

Re: .stl model - features I don't understand.

Post by ohiolyons »

You need to attach the file if there aren't copyright issues. Just imported a STL to refresh my memory.

Tabs and limit planes are not automatically added just doing a simple importing of a STL. There are nine items in your component tree so you added several components yourself.

Without access to the file the most likely explanation for not seeing the TABS & LIMIT PLANE is that they are on a Layers that are not turned on.
John Lyons
CNC in Kettering, Ohio

garylmast
Vectric Wizard

Re: .stl model - features I don't understand.

Post by garylmast »