issue with 4th axis project

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire
Post Reply
djbeam
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 5:23 pm
Model of CNC Machine: cnc shark pro
Location: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

issue with 4th axis project

Post by djbeam »

this is my first project with this process.

somehow the resultant .tap code has Z co-ords that do not make sense.

I am using current 10.5 Aspire and the CNC is a NWA Shark Pro.

The piece to carve is a 1.25in dia x 7in long dowel that I want to carve "TEST" into it.

I am using a 60Deg V bit and the carve option I am using is Vcarve..

the process completes but the .tap file seems to tell the CNC to make a .25 depth cut. I cannot find where I tell the system this as the tool specs say each path cut should only be a max of .1 .

I am obviously missing something, can anyone help as all I am doing is creating scrap wood.

Thanks for any help.

garylmast
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1122
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:03 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Re: issue with 4th axis project

Post by garylmast »

I'm not sure what machine you're using, but tap files probably won't work. I use the Mach 2/3-WrapX2A ATC (mm)(*txt) Post Processor. My rotary sits in the Y position and I use mm. Use the one that corresponds to your machine.

Gary
Attachments
Capture.JPG

User avatar
scotttarnor
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 307
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 11:40 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Piranha XL , Shark HD520
Location: La Crosse WI

Re: issue with 4th axis project

Post by scotttarnor »

If you want a depth of .1 you can select Flat depth and enter .1
Attachments
D26BAB7C-219D-4161-8D2A-1852209E058D.jpeg
Scott T

ohiolyons
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 560
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 7:16 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Laguna IQ HHC, 3HP
Location: Kettering, Ohio

Re: issue with 4th axis project

Post by ohiolyons »

.tap extensions are for Next Wave Automation CNCs.
John
CNC in Kettering, Ohio

User avatar
TReischl
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3822
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 Build 48X36X10 RP 2010 Screenset
Location: Leland NC

Re: issue with 4th axis project

Post by TReischl »

File extensions for cnc g code mean zippity doo dah.
"If you see a good fight, get in it." Dr. Vernon Jones

SteveNelson46
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1008
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 2:43 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger using WinCNC
Location: Tucson, Az.

Re: issue with 4th axis project

Post by SteveNelson46 »

TReischl wrote:
Mon Sep 21, 2020 8:47 pm
File extensions for cnc g code mean zippity doo dah.
As far as content is concerned, I agree. But, if the controller is looking for a ".tap" and the file you load has a different extension it will usually produce an error message.
Steve

User avatar
TReischl
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3822
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 Build 48X36X10 RP 2010 Screenset
Location: Leland NC

Re: issue with 4th axis project

Post by TReischl »

SteveNelson46 wrote:
Mon Sep 21, 2020 8:52 pm
TReischl wrote:
Mon Sep 21, 2020 8:47 pm
File extensions for cnc g code mean zippity doo dah.
As far as content is concerned, I agree. But, if the controller is looking for a ".tap" and the file you load has a different extension it will usually produce an error message.
No disagreement from me except. . . usually it will not even show the file in the dialog box.

BTW, the file extension .tap was around long before NWA arrived on the scene. I have been trying to remember who used to use that extension way back.. . . .probably one of the many famous CAM companies that have disappeared into oblivion.

Frankly, I like the extension .cnc since it tells a person exactly what is in that file.
"If you see a good fight, get in it." Dr. Vernon Jones

User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4244
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: 24x36 GCnC/WinCNC with ATC
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Contact:

Re: issue with 4th axis project

Post by Rcnewcomb »

Could you post your CRV file here for us to look at?

How do I upload files or photos to the forum?
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out
another good day in the shop

Charlie_l
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 1:41 am
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster Stinger II
Location: Wisconsin

Re: issue with 4th axis project

Post by Charlie_l »

In the V-Carve dialog box did you check the box for "Project toolpath onto 3D model"? Or, I might be miss understanding your problem.
Aspire, CAMaster Stinger II

User avatar
scubanimal
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 9:16 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Stinger1 24, Shark HD2 Pro, Aspire,
Location: San Diego

Re: issue with 4th axis project

Post by scubanimal »

djbeam wrote:
Sun Sep 20, 2020 11:55 am
this is my first project with this process.

somehow the resultant .tap code has Z co-ords that do not make sense.

I am using current 10.5 Aspire and the CNC is a NWA Shark Pro.

The piece to carve is a 1.25in dia x 7in long dowel that I want to carve "TEST" into it.

I am using a 60Deg V bit and the carve option I am using is Vcarve..

the process completes but the .tap file seems to tell the CNC to make a .25 depth cut. I cannot find where I tell the system this as the tool specs say each path cut should only be a max of .1 .

I am obviously missing something, can anyone help as all I am doing is creating scrap wood.

Thanks for any help.

DJ, do respond to Randall, he's wonderful with rotary. That said a few things to double check, the center of your dowel should be the Z0 location, Your rotary setup is where I would start first. Also remember if you take a "V" on a flat surface, then Wrap it you can potentially make it a wider "V". So setting a flat depth can help. Do post your vCarve file, Randall is really helpful.

Post Reply