cleaning up a touch probe scan

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire
Post Reply
kyeakel
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 3:42 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger I, Shopbot PRT 9648
Location: Curwensville, PA

cleaning up a touch probe scan

Post by kyeakel »

I have a machine that I just use to build a point cloud of an item I'm trying to reproduce. The scan of a wooden object has the grain of the object on it's flat surface. This adds a lot of additional machining time, which is unnecessary. I've tried the smoothing tool which helps but does not remove all the texture. Is there a feature in Aspire 10 that would allow me to remove a few thousandths from the top of the model?
Thanks for any suggestions,
Kipp
CAMaster Stinger 1
Shopbot PRT 9648
Aspire 8
Cut2d,Cut2dLaser

User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2952
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: cleaning up a touch probe scan

Post by highpockets »

Picture might help.

Can you just draw a closed vector around the area to machine?
John
Maker of Chips

User avatar
TReischl
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3339
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 Build 48X36X10 RP 2010 Screenset
Location: Leland NC

Re: cleaning up a touch probe scan

Post by TReischl »

Have you tried the smoothing tool?

I think you are talking about removing over all surface roughness, right?

There are two varieties to the smoothing abilities, the first is a general smoothing which will slightly round over sharp corners which is usually a good thing, sometimes not. Then there is the smoothing inside the sculpt tool which you control directly.
"If you see a good fight, get in it." Dr. Vernon Jones

User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2952
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: cleaning up a touch probe scan

Post by highpockets »

The smoothing tool won't go far enough?
Attachments
Image 711.png
John
Maker of Chips

ohiolyons
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 471
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 7:16 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Laguna IQ HHC, 3HP
Location: Kettering, Ohio

Re: cleaning up a touch probe scan

Post by ohiolyons »

Try making a flat shape say 0.001 high.

Merge it with the model. Slowly add base height till you raise it just high enough to "fill in the wood grain" but not too high so you dont change the overall height.

Hope this makes sense.
John
CNC in Kettering, Ohio

ohiolyons
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 471
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 7:16 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Laguna IQ HHC, 3HP
Location: Kettering, Ohio

Re: cleaning up a touch probe scan

Post by ohiolyons »

Highpockets he probably needs to deposit, then smooth so he does not noticeably lower it while trying to hide the grain.
John
CNC in Kettering, Ohio

User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2952
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: cleaning up a touch probe scan

Post by highpockets »

John, good idea, but it's all guess work until we get a bit more from the OP.
John
Maker of Chips

User avatar
TReischl
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3339
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 Build 48X36X10 RP 2010 Screenset
Location: Leland NC

Re: cleaning up a touch probe scan

Post by TReischl »

ohiolyons wrote:Try making a flat shape say 0.001 high.

Merge it with the model. Slowly add base height till you raise it just high enough to "fill in the wood grain" but not too high so you dont change the overall height.

Hope this makes sense.
That will work if the model is flat, otherwise, no so much.

If that were the case he could just cut the sculpted parts out and add box for the background.
"If you see a good fight, get in it." Dr. Vernon Jones

ohiolyons
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 471
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 7:16 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Laguna IQ HHC, 3HP
Location: Kettering, Ohio

Re: cleaning up a touch probe scan

Post by ohiolyons »

kyeakel wrote:scan of a wooden object has the grain of the object on it's flat surface
We are all guessing, but the OP did say flat
John
CNC in Kettering, Ohio

kyeakel
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 3:42 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger I, Shopbot PRT 9648
Location: Curwensville, PA

Re: cleaning up a touch probe scan

Post by kyeakel »

Sorry for the lack of info. I've been out all day. I'm trying to reproduce some molding in my home. It's an 1885 Victorian. A previous owner has removed the molding from the back of the house, so I need to remake it from a copy of the front. This will be for the maid's quarters so it's not as elaborate as the rest of the house. Must be the file is too large as the upload attachment blanks out the whole message before it completes. I'll include the height map as it's smaller.
The area of trouble is the middle square, I only want to cut the leaves and the rosette. I will try the suggestion by ohiolyons about the flat shape.
moldingTop fixed2.png
CAMaster Stinger 1
Shopbot PRT 9648
Aspire 8
Cut2d,Cut2dLaser

User avatar
ssflyer
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 906
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 8:21 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRSAlpha 96x60
Location: Napa County, California

Re: cleaning up a touch probe scan

Post by ssflyer »

Probes can be handy for things like this gargoyle:
Gargoyle1.png

But for what you are doing, I'd simply recreate it with a molding toolpath (then create a component from that, to add the rosette and flower carvings, like so:

It can be much more accurate, and no issues with the artifacts from the probe...
Attachments
MoldingTop.png
Ron Sloan

User avatar
ssflyer
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 906
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 8:21 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRSAlpha 96x60
Location: Napa County, California

Re: cleaning up a touch probe scan

Post by ssflyer »

Of course, my rendering isn't exact - I just took your heightmap and used that to get an approximate profile for the molding toolpath, and didn't take any time on the rosette and flowers...
Ron Sloan

Post Reply