Smoothing a textured surface

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire
Olle
Vectric Craftsman
Model of CNC Machine: Laguna MCNCIQ

Smoothing a textured surface

Post by Olle »

I'm totally new to this, but I figure this is an easy one for those with more experience: I'm planning to make custom gun grips by modifying 3D laser scans, and the first thing I need to do is to remove the existing surface features. There are mainly two things I need to remove:

Checkering: This is cut into the surface of the grips, so if I use the smoothing tool I'll get a slightly recessed surface with some "ghosting". Is there a tool that will smooth only to the highest points of the texture, or do I need to somehow define and generate a new surface? Without much previous experience of 3D modelling, I can only describe it in woodworking terms: What I want to do is kinda like what you would get if you spread putty across the checkering to smooth it out.

Medallions, screw holes, escutcheons etc: These features can be either flush, recessed or slightly protruding, so I figure the best way to remove them is to cut them out and replace/fill with a new surface.

Hope this makes sense, and I also hope it's something that's easily done. :wink:

Mike-S
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Joe's Hybrid 4x4 (but 3x3)

Re: Smoothing a textured surface

Post by Mike-S »

Try these settings:
Attachments
sculpt.jpg

Olle
Vectric Craftsman

Post by Olle »

Mike,

Thanks, that seems to work! The edges are still a bit iffy though, some careful work with the "undo brush" will re-define the bottom edges (inside corner), but I would also need to sharpen the upper edge (see picture). Is there any way you can create a new surface by defining a number of points (like selecting high spots in the checkering, drawing splines etc)? The smoothing seems to be just the ticket for the main surface, but it will obviously be very iffy to use around the perimeter.