Woodworking Laser

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire
pjblues
Vectric Apprentice
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom AutoRoute 6

Woodworking Laser

Post by pjblues »

When I was at the Aspire camp a couple of years ago, some of you were using lasers for engraving and cutting versus cnc routers. Now that I have a couple of years experience with routers, I am interested in lasers. I am a home hobby person, not a production shop so I would assume, there are top quality lasers for people like me? What are the preferred brands of lasers being used for processing wood and acrylic? Secondly, I cannot remember, but, I assume, lasers can be used for 3D work? Lastly, is processing with lasers faster than cnc?

Thanks.

pjblues
Vectric Apprentice

Re: Woodworking Laser

Post by pjblues »

Sorry, I did not pay attention, there was another posting on lasers. I have read through the postings and see the big three. However, that said, for cutting 1/2" hard wood, what wattage of laser would I need?

Thanks.

dhellew2
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Legacy Artisan 72 and AVID CNC Rotary

Post by dhellew2 »

Pjblues,
1/2" cutting wood, 120 watt is probably the minimum
No, you cannot do 3d carving with a laser
Yes, you can do some nice engraving that is a slight 2.5d
For what they do, lasers are faster than cnc
Some projects are better when using both machines such as lithophanes [cnc] with text [laser]
Dale
You will get old if you live long enough!
Young = time, no money
Old = money, no time
Dale

Rcnewcomb
Vectric Archimage
Model of CNC Machine: 24x36 GCnC/WinCNC with ATC

Post by Rcnewcomb »

No, you cannot do 3d carving with a laser
That is no longer true depending on your definition of 3D. Some of the lasers can do 2.5D/3D work using grayscale 3D models. Kern Lasers is one of the companies demonstrating this. Epilog shows samples as well. Gantry Company sells 3D grayscale artwork.

Image Image
Image Image
- Randall Newcomb