trouble with toolpath

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire
Post Reply
User avatar
Ms Wolffie
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2695
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:41 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Blue Elephant 1325, Shark HD Pro
Location: Tully Heads, Wet Tropics, Queensland, Australia

trouble with toolpath

Post by Ms Wolffie »

Will someone please have a look at this toolpath, I cannot figure out what is wrong. I can't post the complete toolpath because the extension .tap is not allowed.
It would be nice to know which extensions are actually allowed.
The gantry stops moving at line 33 but the router and the control box counter keeps on running.
I have re-calculated, deleted and re-created the toolpath but it just does not want to go past line 33.
The preview is perfect.
I have no problem with the finishing cut.
Thanks
Wolffie
MyToolpath.pdf
(154.1 KiB) Downloaded 94 times
Cheers
Wolffie

Whatshammacallit
Cut3D, VCarvePro 6.5, Aspire4, PhotoVCarve, Corel Graphics Suite X6

dond52
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 11:54 pm
Location: Templeton. PA. 16259

Re: trouble with toolpath

Post by dond52 »

Hello Wolfie,
I do not have a shark and I do not know what type of controller you have,But,
is there a chance your machine is up against a limit switch on your X axis?
My controller is Mach3, and sometimes it will continue to move on the DRO's and timer
when I get against a limit switch or try to over travel.

User avatar
Ms Wolffie
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2695
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:41 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Blue Elephant 1325, Shark HD Pro
Location: Tully Heads, Wet Tropics, Queensland, Australia

Re: trouble with toolpath

Post by Ms Wolffie »

There are no limit switches on the Shark.
It starts from XYZ0, goes to about X6.712, Y7.264,Z9.185 all in mm, then just stops.
It is the only file that does it :(

Cheers
Wolffie
Cheers
Wolffie

Whatshammacallit
Cut3D, VCarvePro 6.5, Aspire4, PhotoVCarve, Corel Graphics Suite X6

User avatar
Ms Wolffie
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2695
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:41 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Blue Elephant 1325, Shark HD Pro
Location: Tully Heads, Wet Tropics, Queensland, Australia

Re: trouble with toolpath

Post by Ms Wolffie »

This is really weird, as a last resort I changed the tool from Metric to Imperial and the toolpath is running the way it is supposed to do.

For some reason Aspire/CNCShark-USB Arcs (mm) (*.tap) does not like the tool size I set.

Strange

Wolffie
Cheers
Wolffie

Whatshammacallit
Cut3D, VCarvePro 6.5, Aspire4, PhotoVCarve, Corel Graphics Suite X6

User avatar
Ms Wolffie
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2695
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:41 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Blue Elephant 1325, Shark HD Pro
Location: Tully Heads, Wet Tropics, Queensland, Australia

Re: trouble with toolpath

Post by Ms Wolffie »

Not only that, it went from 7+ hours to 17+ minutes.

Wolffie
Cheers
Wolffie

Whatshammacallit
Cut3D, VCarvePro 6.5, Aspire4, PhotoVCarve, Corel Graphics Suite X6

User avatar
Mark
Vectric Staff
Posts: 1029
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 2:55 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark, ShopBot, Roland PNC3000
Location: Alcester U.K.
Contact:

Re: trouble with toolpath

Post by Mark »

Hello Wollfie,

This appears to be the same toolpath that you sent into us here at support yesterday.
As I mentioned in my reply to you yesterday, the toolpath runs on the CNC Shark that we have here.
But as I also mentioned, the feed rate that you have set for the toolpath (60mm per minute) is very slow.
I notice that although you mentioned that you did intend to set this at 60mm per second, that the slower feed rate
is still set in the file that you have posted up.
Are you sure that the axis are not moving whilst the counters are counting up?
With the feed rate that you have set, it takes well over two minutes to make the first raster pass.
Does the recalculated toolpath that I sent to you run O.K.?
I have sent you another email this morning with step by step instructions on how to change the feed rate
for the toolpath.

I hope that this helps.

Cheers,

Mark.

User avatar
Ms Wolffie
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2695
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:41 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Blue Elephant 1325, Shark HD Pro
Location: Tully Heads, Wet Tropics, Queensland, Australia

Re: trouble with toolpath

Post by Ms Wolffie »

Hello Mark
Thanks for your reply.
I may have posted the wrong toolpath.
A bit flustered, it was 36 degrees Celcius here today and it is still just the end of spring :roll:
I just looked through your emails, I have not received the re-calculated toolpath yet.
The other email with the instructiions just arrived.
I have sent you some images.
Cheers
Wolffie
Cheers
Wolffie

Whatshammacallit
Cut3D, VCarvePro 6.5, Aspire4, PhotoVCarve, Corel Graphics Suite X6

Post Reply