Tricks for continuing cuts after broken bit??

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire
Post Reply
User avatar
HandsOnKatie
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2023 10:25 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 5 Pro
Contact:

Tricks for continuing cuts after broken bit??

Post by HandsOnKatie »

Hi all,

Got a long cut that I've been doing using a 3d roughing pass and the bit broke annoyingly...!

I'm trying to work out if there's any tricks to continuing roughly where I left off - I'm using Carbide motion which seems fairly limited in this respect, so I was wondering if there's anything I could do in aspire to achieve the same result?

User avatar
Tex_Lawrence
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 986
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 11:30 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko3XXL; JTech7W; V-CarvePro 12.007
Location: Dayton, Texas (Don't Mess With My Texas!)

Re: Tricks for continuing cuts after broken bit??

Post by Tex_Lawrence »

Nothing I can help you with about CM. Its probably too late for your current situation.

However, switch to gSender by Sienci, and you will get a function for resuming at line number; along with many other features.

https://resources.sienci.com/view/gs-installation/
https://forum.sienci.com/
Tex — Crooked Wood Products
Now there's a man with an open mind – you can feel the breeze from here.

User avatar
HandsOnKatie
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2023 10:25 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 5 Pro
Contact:

Re: Tricks for continuing cuts after broken bit??

Post by HandsOnKatie »

Oh great tip, that looks excellent! I'm thinking actually I could just load my existing gcode in that and it 'should' work?? Then I could skip to the rough place and carry on hopefully....!

User avatar
Tex_Lawrence
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 986
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 11:30 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko3XXL; JTech7W; V-CarvePro 12.007
Location: Dayton, Texas (Don't Mess With My Texas!)

Re: Tricks for continuing cuts after broken bit??

Post by Tex_Lawrence »

HandsOnKatie wrote:
Mon Apr 22, 2024 11:25 am
... I could just load my existing gcode in that and it 'should' work?? ...
Its possible, but use ncviewer or equivalent to maybe see where that point is in the gcode. I'd be careful about gcode produced by a post processor that works with CM, but its your experiment. :lol:

gSender will give you a view of the gcode, so perhaps you'll be able to see on screen where to re-start. I've never done that, though.
Tex — Crooked Wood Products
Now there's a man with an open mind – you can feel the breeze from here.

User avatar
HandsOnKatie
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2023 10:25 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 5 Pro
Contact:

Re: Tricks for continuing cuts after broken bit??

Post by HandsOnKatie »

Yeah, it's good counsel - although as I was doing a 3d roughing pass from vectric aspire, it's pretty predictably going back and forth in a raster motion, so I know it have got to the third layer pass and got about 70% through that, so if I start it we'll before that - eg 50% through the third layer, then it can cut air for a bit and I can check it's aligned before it starts to cut for real and carry on.... at least that's the theory ... :lol:

Post Reply