Aspire V10 Toolpath ??

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire
njload
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 1:20 pm
Model of CNC Machine: X-Carve 1000mm
Location: New Jersey

Aspire V10 Toolpath ??

Post by njload »

Still in the learning curve here but was wondering what kind of tool-path is needed to create the Sloped carve on the Mexican Train domino's station.
Designing it is no problem but I have no idea how to create the tool-path to slope out the ends.

Picture included. Hope I am explaining this right.
Mexican Train Station.jpg

User avatar
gkas
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1040
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 3:39 am
Model of CNC Machine: Aspire, Axiom AR8 Pro+, Axiom 4.2W Laser
Location: Southern California

Re: Aspire V10 Toolpath ??

Post by gkas »

As usual in Vectric, there are more ways than one to attack the problem. It looks like a flat topped dome. I created a dome from Create Shape from vector outline. Then I drew a rectangle to represent one of the cutouts. I used circular copy to create 8 rectangles. 8 is just a guess. I have no idea what the total board should look like. Select the 8 rectangles, and the dome, and use Clear area of selected component inside selected vectors. I drew a circle and used a 2D Pocket Toolpath to shave off the top by 0.15"
Mexican Train.jpg
Link to Mexican train.crv3d https://drive.google.com/open?id=1OjLL7 ... xbz9Gl8xNs

User avatar
dealguy11
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1661
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 9:52 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Anderson Selexx 510
Location: Henryville, PA
Contact:

Re: Aspire V10 Toolpath ??

Post by dealguy11 »

I would use a moulding toolpath with a large ballnose bit. Draw a circle for the moulding toolpath rail, and a slanted line for the profile.


Edit - don't use my tool feed and speed settings - way too fast for a small machine.
Attachments
Mexican Train Domino.JPG
Mexican Domino Vectors.JPG
Mexican Domino.crv3d
(701.5 KiB) Downloaded 43 times
Steve Godding
D&S Artistic Woodworking http://www.dsartisticwood.com

njload
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 1:20 pm
Model of CNC Machine: X-Carve 1000mm
Location: New Jersey

Re: Aspire V10 Toolpath ??

Post by njload »

Thanks to both replies, I need to wrap my head around what you both did. I was messing with the create shape dome but wasn't sure about the rest.

Thanks again.

You guys are great.

njload
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 1:20 pm
Model of CNC Machine: X-Carve 1000mm
Location: New Jersey

Re: Aspire V10 Toolpath ??

Post by njload »

dealguy11, still trying wrap my head around the molding tool-path and was wondering how to change the thickness of the stock to reflect in this tool-path.
I know how to change the job setup and when I do this I get a warning that the "cut depth exceeds material thickness" in the swept profile tool-path. This is when
I changed to .75" thickness in the job setup.

Any help is more that appreciated as I don't want to just copy your generous help but I want to learn from it.

njload

User avatar
dealguy11
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1661
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 9:52 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Anderson Selexx 510
Location: Henryville, PA
Contact:

Re: Aspire V10 Toolpath ??

Post by dealguy11 »

The depth of the moulding toolpath is defined by the height of the sweep vector. In the example I sent, if you click on the slanted vector to the right of the work area and then click on "Set selected objects size" you will see that it is a little more than 1" in height. If you modify this vector in the Set Selected Objects Size dialog so that it is only 1/2" high (make sure you unclick "Link xy" when you do this so it doesn't change both dimensions) then it should work in 3/4" stock.

Edit - Actually, anything less than 3/4" will work. I picked 1/2" because it looks like there is about 1/4" of material around the edge of the shape in the picture you provided.
Steve Godding
D&S Artistic Woodworking http://www.dsartisticwood.com

njload
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 1:20 pm
Model of CNC Machine: X-Carve 1000mm
Location: New Jersey

Re: Aspire V10 Toolpath ??

Post by njload »

Thanks again, really appreciate your help.

chris@manabeads.com
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 5:55 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD3

Re: Aspire V10 Toolpath ??

Post by chris@manabeads.com »

Hey guys. Like this Mexican Domino Train Station :-) But can't read it on my VCarve Desktop Software. Any chance someone can translate it for me? Apologize if this cannot be done but hopefully it can... I cut 3D images all the time...

Cheers!

Chris

User avatar
FixitMike
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1709
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 5:21 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shark Pro Plus (retired)
Location: Burien, WA USA

Re: Aspire V10 Toolpath ??

Post by FixitMike »

You can also make a slope using the fluting toolpath and closely spaced vectors. I use an end mill and vectors spaced at 1/4 of the end mill diameter. Note that the cut area will be beyond the selected vectors by the tool radius, but the sloped area will end with a flat at the lowest point . A conical surface like this would be cut using radial lines. The fluting toolpath will cut faster than a 3D surface, but uses a different tool.
Taper.PNG
Good judgement comes from experience.
Experience comes from bad judgement.

chris@manabeads.com
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 5:55 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD3

Re: Aspire V10 Toolpath ??

Post by chris@manabeads.com »

Thanks Mike. I get it and had not thought of that approach. What do you use as "vectors"; a line, arc?

User avatar
FixitMike
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1709
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 5:21 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shark Pro Plus (retired)
Location: Burien, WA USA

Re: Aspire V10 Toolpath ??

Post by FixitMike »

I use straight lines as vectors. For this example I used a 1/2" end mill with the vectors spaced about 1/2" apart at the outer ends. Note that the cut extends beyond the vectors by the tool radius, which means there will be a 1/2" flat at the lower ends. I profile cut inside the cut for this example.
Conical Taper fluting.jpg
conical taper fluting.crv
(469.5 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
Good judgement comes from experience.
Experience comes from bad judgement.

User avatar
FixitMike
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1709
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 5:21 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shark Pro Plus (retired)
Location: Burien, WA USA

Re: Aspire V10 Toolpath ??

Post by FixitMike »

Correction: 1/8" apart, not 1/2". I use 1/4 of the diameter of the bit used to get a reasonably smooth surface on a moderate slope.
Good judgement comes from experience.
Experience comes from bad judgement.

User avatar
FixitMike
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1709
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 5:21 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shark Pro Plus (retired)
Location: Burien, WA USA

Re: Aspire V10 Toolpath ??

Post by FixitMike »

Correction: 1/8" apart, not 1/2". I use 1/4 of the diameter of the bit used to get a reasonably smooth surface on a moderate slope.
Good judgement comes from experience.
Experience comes from bad judgement.

chris@manabeads.com
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 5:55 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD3

Re: Aspire V10 Toolpath ??

Post by chris@manabeads.com »

FixitMike wrote:
Tue Nov 24, 2020 2:50 am
I use straight lines as vectors. For this example I used a 1/2" end mill with the vectors spaced about 1/2" apart at the outer ends. Note that the cut extends beyond the vectors by the tool radius, which means there will be a 1/2" flat at the lower ends. I profile cut inside the cut for this example.Conical Taper fluting.jpgconical taper fluting.crv
Thanks again Mike. Hmm, want to fully understand your approach. It seems that to make a dome shape, using circular vectors stepping in at 25% of the End Mill diamter, in my case, 1/4" End Mill, thus 1/16" steps would do the trick. So am confused about your use of straight lines as vectors. Also, not sure what I am looking at in the image you attached...

Chris

chris@manabeads.com
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 5:55 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD3

Re: Aspire V10 Toolpath ??

Post by chris@manabeads.com »

FixitMike wrote:
Tue Nov 24, 2020 2:50 am
I use straight lines as vectors. For this example I used a 1/2" end mill with the vectors spaced about 1/2" apart at the outer ends. Note that the cut extends beyond the vectors by the tool radius, which means there will be a 1/2" flat at the lower ends. I profile cut inside the cut for this example.Conical Taper fluting.jpgconical taper fluting.crv
Thanks again Mike. Hmm, want to fully understand your approach. It seems that to make a dome shape, using circular vectors stepping in at 25% of the End Mill diamter, in my case, 1/4" End Mill, thus 1/16" steps would do the trick. So am confused about your use of straight lines as vectors. Also, not sure what I am looking at in the image you attached...

Chris

Post Reply