Aspire dxf to fusion360

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire
Post Reply
RhoTu
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 149
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 10:12 pm

Aspire dxf to fusion360

Post by RhoTu »

Good morning all,

I am fairly adept at aspire and like designing items within it. I need some help though with getting a design into other software to be able to extrude a design and create a stl file for slicing for a 3d print.

For some reason this design needs something different than what I have been doing. Can someone explain what process I need to accomplish this task?

Attached dxf file exported from Aspire.
Attachments
Rocker.dxf
(13.23 KiB) Downloaded 22 times

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10470
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Aspire dxf to fusion360

Post by Adrian »

Maybe I'm being a bit dense but I'm not seeing what the problem is.

User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3134
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Aspire dxf to fusion360

Post by highpockets »

The dxf imports just fine, however if you're wanting to extrude it there's a problem. The outline vector is open, close the vector export again and then import into other software.
Attachments
Image 801.png
John
Maker of Chips

RhoTu
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 149
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 10:12 pm

Re: Aspire dxf to fusion360

Post by RhoTu »

John, I swear I checked that 3 times. Thank you for taking the time to look at this. As usual, my fault.

RT

User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3134
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Aspire dxf to fusion360

Post by highpockets »

No problem,

There are two add-ons for other software that you might want to take a look at. ConnectTheDots and SketchChecker. other software doesn't have nearly the nice tools for dealing with vectors and in this case open vectors that we have come accustom to in Vectric products. It's easier to find the problems in Aspire or VCP then export to other software.
John
Maker of Chips

Post Reply