profile tabs

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
Post Reply
coop
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 8:53 pm
Model of CNC Machine: K2CNC- 25X25-50X50
Location: Mackinaw City MI
Contact:

profile tabs

Post by coop »

although i have used this option sucessfully several times
sometimes, no matter how or what size i try to use
they show up on the edit tab screen but in the preview toolpath screen
some show up always and others (outside profile) just do not exist
even after i have moved them around just to test them ?
help please

CRFultz
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1160
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: Longview, Texas

Re: profile tabs

Post by CRFultz »

coop wrote:although i have used this option sucessfully several times
sometimes, no matter how or what size i try to use
they show up on the edit tab screen but in the preview toolpath screen
some show up always and others (outside profile) just do not exist
even after i have moved them around just to test them ?
help please
Coop, I have the same problem....
Each profile cut should have 14 tabs....it likes the square the most...
Attachments
ScreenHunter_8.jpg
(121.2 KiB) Downloaded 138 times
ScreenHunter_11.jpg
(111.66 KiB) Downloaded 137 times

User avatar
BrianM
Vectric Staff
Posts: 1960
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 10:15 am
Model of CNC Machine: A few ...
Location: Redditch U.K
Contact:

Post by BrianM »

Hi Chuck and Coop,

This has been mentioned before on the forum. The problem is that the tabs were designed to be used with the Profile options Machine Vectors .. Inside and Outside as these are the options we were expecting people to use to cut things out as they take account of the cutter radius.

Unfortunately I did not 'grey out' the tab option for the 'Machine Vectors On' selection so although it sometimes works it is very inconsistent. However I have learnt the error of my ways :D and for the next version we will fully implement the tabs for the machine 'On' option as well.

Brian

CRFultz
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1160
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: Longview, Texas

Post by CRFultz »

Thanks Brian,
So far it hasn't been a issue...the tabs have always been there for normal cutouts...

Chuck

coop
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 8:53 pm
Model of CNC Machine: K2CNC- 25X25-50X50
Location: Mackinaw City MI
Contact:

tabs

Post by coop »

i have had sucess with regular shapes
but some fonts just do not cooperate
i have tried all the options (on, inside, outside)
with no consistency ?

coop
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 8:53 pm
Model of CNC Machine: K2CNC- 25X25-50X50
Location: Mackinaw City MI
Contact:

tabs

Post by coop »

are there other particulars involved
such as size or shape of tabs ?
or font details (radius size, bit size etc. ) ?
thanks
coop

User avatar
Tony Mac
Vectric Alumni
Posts: 1965
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 6:24 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Tony Mac »

Hi Coop,

Can you e-mail one of your files that includes the toolpaths + tab
settings to - support@vectrc.com - and we'll take a look.

Thanks,

Tony

coop
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 8:53 pm
Model of CNC Machine: K2CNC- 25X25-50X50
Location: Mackinaw City MI
Contact:

tabs

Post by coop »

hey tony
i got things to work sorta,
i used a larger offset around the type to make up for the tool size
and keep it readable then choose the" machine inside" option
then it added whatever tabs i wanted
i'll try to send the old file with the" machine outside" or "on" option
thanks
coop

Post Reply