help with molding

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
hobbyist
Model of CNC Machine: onefinity x50 woodworker

help with molding

Post by hobbyist »

Hello all.
I have a friend who is trying to restore an old wooden window.

The bottom sash is totally dry rot and will need a new piece.
One of the center window sash is also in bad shape.

I am trying to use my onefinity CNC to create a molding.
I have Vectric vcarve pro.
I am fairly new to the whole CNC world.
However I am a lifelong woodworker, and have completed several CNC projects.
I have watched several videos on the vectric molding toolpath and am willing to give it a try.

I know I need to create a dfx file of the molding but unsure how to do this.
20230325_163026.jpg
This is an end view of one of the cross pieces, the bottom sash will have the same design (one half)

I don't need to design the bottom “tongue” as I can cut the rabbits with a router or table saw.

The dimensions are as follows”

Total width is .75
Total heighth is 1.34 (including the “tongue”
Top Step is .313.wide by .156 high
Second step is .563 wide and .313 high
Last step is .75 wide and will go the rest of the way to the bottom

I thought I might be able to draw an outline of the end view but not sure how to proceed.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Mike
"Not all Who Wander are Lost" (J.R.R. Tolkien)

ohiolyons
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Laguna IQ

Re: help with molding

Post by ohiolyons »

In Aspire this would be a piece of cake.

My guess in VCarve is double sided job and use Moulding Toolpath on both sides.

Drive rail a straight line and draw half you profile.
John Lyons
CNC in Kettering, Ohio

dealguy11
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Anderson Selexx 510

Post by dealguy11 »

There are a few ways you might go about this. Not sure what the tongue on the bottom is, but you could easily make it as a separate piece and glue it on later.