Help a Complete Newbie - Please

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
FrankS123
Model of CNC Machine: Naxt Wave Shark HD520

Help a Complete Newbie - Please

Post by FrankS123 »

I am brand new to using VCarve Pro and the CNC world. I am watching videos and beginning to learn the basics but the learning curve is steep for me. I want to a small jewelry box for my granddaughter's first holy communion in early May. I would like to use my Shark to carve a 3D Cross into the lid of the box. I purchased a STL file of a cross and imported it into VCarve Pro (crv attached) but I don't have any idea how to develop the necessary vectors, and I cannot find a version of a suitable cross that includes vectors. I am will to purchase a file for this purpose if necessary but cannot find a source. Any help would be very much appreciated - thank you!
Attachments
Cross.crv
(2.44 MiB) Downloaded 44 times

gkas
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Aspire, Axiom AR8 Pro+, Axiom 4.2W Laser

Re: Help a Complete Newbie - Please

Post by gkas »

This will be a 3D project. Watch some of the training videos. A good start will be the 3D Assembly and the 3D Toolpaths.

https://www.vectric.com/support/tutoria ... d-assembly

P.S. Be sure to start with some scrap or cheap wood... you'll make plenty of mistakes. Your project can be as complicated as you want it. You can be simple and elegant with carving the just cross, or ornate with embellishments. Everyone here will be happy to help you along. We all started in this spot.

FrankS123
Model of CNC Machine: Naxt Wave Shark HD520

Post by FrankS123 »

Thank you, gkas! Appreciate the quick reply and reference video links!

sharkcutup
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD3 Pro Extended Bed with Spindle

Post by sharkcutup »

Cross.png
Like This? File is too large to post here. If your interested in it I could post it to dropbox and a link to it from a post here.