Levelling a new spoilboard on a home made CNC, I have Vectric VCarve Pro and UCCNC

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
wannabecnc
Vectric Apprentice
Model of CNC Machine: Home made CNC

Levelling a new spoilboard on a home made CNC, I have Vectric VCarve Pro and UCCNC

Post by wannabecnc »

Hi Everyone,
I'm new to Vectric and CNC.
I have just finished building a CNC machine, I bought the raw materials some time ago and gradually I managed to build my CNC, learning and getting inspiration from Youtube.
I have Vectric V Carve Pro and UCCNC.
I need to level the table surface/spoil board. My table surface is bigger than the actual working area, therefore the surface to be levelled is a smaller area.
Would you guys be kind enough to help me out here and guide me through the process of setting up in VCarve Pro and then using the file for the levelling via UCCNC?
I have the AXBB-E Motion Controller which I bought with the UCCNC software and license.
I have read some info that a post-processor is necessary. Being new to all of this, I'm not too sure how to do this and I could certainly do with some help.
Thank you in advance

Kind regards,

martin54
Vectric Archimage
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber 48, Triac PC, Isel fixed gantry

Re: Levelling a new spoilboard on a home made CNC, I have Vectric VCarve Pro and UCCNC

Post by martin54 »

You might want to consider putting another board on top of the spoilboard you have that is a smaller size, the size you can actually machine with your CNC. Reason for this is that at the moment you are going to have to machine a pocket in your existing spoilboard which won't generally be a problem but may be if you want to do something like use a larger piece of material & use toolpath tiling :lol: :lol: