Completely Discourages

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
19mark45@gmail.com
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko XXL

Completely Discourages

Post by 19mark45@gmail.com »

I have been working on a cutting board with a sailboat inlay. Watched a YouTube video on how to and followed it to the letter. In the simulation mode the project looked wonderful. Before cutting the project I thought I'd better check out things in a piece of scrap wood since hardwoods are not only becoming increasingly expensive, but hard to find a well. I'm finding that thing don't always turn out as the appear in the simulation mode.

Attached is a picture of the display more. If you look at the spaces between the two sails and the boat and the water below, they appear fine, but in reality they merge together when cut so that there is no space between them. Also attached is the crv file used to create it.

So, why the discouragement? First, I'm rather new to CNC and it seems that almost all my project have turned out to be failures even when I am following expert advice. Second, if things do not actually cut as they appear in the simulation mode it makes me wonder if every project has to be first test. Even pine the least expensive wood is becoming expensive and I just cannot afford that. Third, I was hoping to get this project finished in time to give to very dear relative and it looks like it just isn't going to happen

I am wondering it there is anyone out there who has some experience can take a look at the crv file and tell me where I am going wrong and how to fix this.

Thanks
Attachments
Sail Boat Cutting Board.jpg
Sail Boat Female .crv
(726 KiB) Downloaded 48 times

Leo
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254 Chinese Made

Re: Completely Discourages

Post by Leo »

On your 3-rd cutter - 90 deg v-bit. You have the wrong tool selected. You have a 1/4 end mill instead of a "V" bit