Pocket depth issue when using multiple bits

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
sakle2k
Vectric Apprentice
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger I

Pocket depth issue when using multiple bits

Post by sakle2k »

Hi all,

I've cut a pocket set for a 0-degree raster cut using a 1/4", 1/8" & 1/16" endmills, but the smaller tools have cut deeper than the .1" depth selected. All of the bits are upcut and flat bottom. I've searched for posts covering this issue and found a suggestion to use the "Set Last Pass Thickness" setting in the "Specify Pass Depths" property sheet under "Edit Passes". I have never used this before and would like to understand how this should be used when using multiple bits for pocket clearance. Would this help with the issue I'm having? Why would the 1/8" & 1/16" bits cut deeper? BTW I've checked tram and had just resurfaced the spoilboard. The machine is a CAMaster Stinger I.

The link below is a photo of the issue I'm having (I couldn't figure out how to embed a photo, guessing this BB doesn't like https)
https://photos.app.goo.gl/sdAyY5LosgZMu9XB7

Appreciate any help!

Thanks,
Les

TReischl
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 48X36X7 RP 2022 UCCNC Screenset

Re: Pocket depth issue when using multiple bits

Post by TReischl »

What you are not telling us is how you are setting the height of the tools in the collet.

As for posting photos? Of course you can, see the little tab down below? Try clicking it and then reading. It will work wonders for you.

BTW, a lot us do not like photos that are posted somewhere else on the internet. They have a way of vanishing and then down the road the post here become useless. By using the ATTACHMENTS tab below the pic is stored on Vectric's servers.
Capture.PNG
"If you see a good fight, get in it." Dr. Vernon Johns

Rcnewcomb
Vectric Archimage
Model of CNC Machine: 24x36 GCnC/WinCNC with ATC

Post by Rcnewcomb »