Noob graphics question

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
Max340
Model of CNC Machine: Bobs E4

Noob graphics question

Post by Max340 »

I worked in the printing industry for a while, so I have some experience dealing with graphics files, but CNC routing is a bit different.
I know and have used the BMP import tool, and I have traced the bitmaps and had success doing this. However, When importing and tracing, it creates an image best suited (it seems) to V-carving, rather than profile routing. If I import a line drawing, I'd rather profile cut the drawing itself.

How is the best way to make a line drawing into vectors, if that's even a process?

Can I trace a line drawing and profile cut it with good results?

What programs/apps are easily used/acquired to feed Vcarve the files it likes to use?

I see the button to "import vectors" but I'm not sure how to manipulate the image once I've pulled it in to Vcarve.

I'm sure there may be stuff in the help files or on here, but I'm not even sure what to call what I'm attempting to do, let alone if its even possible. Thus my questions here.

sharkcutup
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD3 Pro Extended Bed with Spindle

Re: Noob graphics question

Post by sharkcutup »

Check out the Tutorials on the Vectric website and there are many videos on YouTube also.

Sharkcutup
V-Carve Pro Tips, Gadget Tips & Videos
YouTube Channel - Sharkcutup CNC
V-Carve Pro 11.554

AboveCreations
Vectric Craftsman
Model of CNC Machine: i2r B22

Post by AboveCreations »

Max340 wrote:
Wed Nov 17, 2021 10:08 pm
I worked in the printing industry for a while, so I have some experience dealing with graphics files, but CNC routing is a bit different.