usb connections

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
Cd wells
Model of CNC Machine: Onefinity x-35 with vcarve pro

usb connections

Post by Cd wells »

what is needed to connect computer directly to controller to download tool paths? vcarve pro to onefinity woodworker.

Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: usb connections

Post by Adrian »

You would probably be better off looking/asking on the Onefinity support site - https://www.onefinitycnc.com/support

From what I can see there is no direct output option with the post processors for that machine and you would transfer files in the normal way.

Cd wells

Post by Cd wells »

what is the normal way. i'm new with cnc. I have cut just three projects downloading tool paths onto flash drives and flash drive to controller. Now no data is downloading onto flash drives. It shows the file on the drive with xxxkb of data but their is nothing on the drive.
Don't know what i've done wrong.

Cd wells

Post by Cd wells »

There is a button right below save tool path "connect directly to machine" but it is not turned on. I thought maybe I needed to install
driver or a patch for my computer to communicate with controller/

SteveNelson46
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger 1

Post by SteveNelson46 »

Try reformatting the flash drive or use a different one.
Steve

Cd wells

Post by Cd wells »

I have done both, still not betting any data downloaded

ken whiklo
Vectric Craftsman
Model of CNC Machine: CWI Professor 2.2

Post by ken whiklo »

Check the name you gave to the file. My machine does not like "." or "/ \" and will act as if the file is not there. Changing the name fixes it.

adze_cnc
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008

Post by adze_cnc »

It also could be a file name extension issue. For example if your machine is expecting: abc.nc as a name and the post processor saves it as abc.gcode the cnc machine might not recognize it.