Scaling job proportionately

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
JwoodCNC
Model of CNC Machine: Iconic by Axiom

Scaling job proportionately

Post by JwoodCNC »

Just wondering if there is a way to take a project file and scale it proportionately?

I am a beginner -- currently having fun experimenting with this wooden chain project:
https://www.vectric.com/vectric-communi ... oodenChain

I've finally fixed my registration issues. Now I'm wondering if there's a straightforward way to take the file and make a chain at about 80% of the size? I'm aware of the 'scale design with job size' tick box but this doesn't seem to do what I'm trying to achieve. Will I need to manually figure out new proportions for the thickness etc?

Just wondering if there might be a tutorial on scaling the whole job to a smaller percentage of its current size -- if this is indeed possible.

Thank you!

SteveNelson46
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger 1

Re: Scaling job proportionately

Post by SteveNelson46 »

I've never done it but you could go into the job setup and make sure the "Scale design with job size" is checked. Then in the width box leave what is there, move to the end of the line and type "*.8=" (no quotes) and press enter. Do the same for the height setting. This uses the built-in math functions to scale the job and design by 80%. This is a 2-sided job so you will have to do the same for both A and B sides.
Steve

JwoodCNC

Post by JwoodCNC »

Thank you for this! Can you please clarify where you mean when you say
move to the end of the line and type "*.8=" (no quotes) and press enter.

Do you mean in the Width (X): field? so there is a space between the width measurement and the .8? (I am in the Job Setup section and looking at the Job Size).

I'm just not clear what field you mean when you say move to the end of the line.

Thanks for your help.

Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Post by Adrian »