Feed rate drops at dogbone

logicspeaks
Model of CNC Machine: IS 510 Shope Sabre

Feed rate drops at dogbone

Post by logicspeaks »

Greetings,

I'm currently a CNC operator who uses this software at our shop daily. I found an issue I can't quite resolve and seems to be somewhat unpredictable.

The problem:

At times (not always) when I add dog-bones to our parts for routing my feed rate drops drastically prior to the dog-bone radius and then resumes like normal after routing that radius. The scenario is like this: I'm feeding at 800 IPM when suddenly my machines feed rate drops to 20 IPM until it finishes the dog-bone radius. Meanwhile the RPM stays at 18000 so its basically burning my end-mill during that 5-7 seconds. This happens whether I have multiple passes or single passes.

Additionally, this doesn't happen on every dog-bone radius. It seems rather random. The polylines appear to be completely clean and there are no extra points to speak of. This happens whether have an imported file from Rhino or whether I draw in manually within the V-carve Pro software.

Finally, if I were to delete my path and redo the toolpath within V-carve it still does the same thing. If I change it from a single pass to 2 passes, it changes which dog-bone it happens on but it never quits. Resetting my machine also doesn't change anything. Re-importing a new file doesn't change anything and redrawing the file doesn't change anything and redoing the dog-bone doesn't change anything. Additionally, I have had a copy of the drawing within V-carve (say I'm cutting 3 pieces) where only 2 of those pieces keep doing it and if I delete those two and copy from the first one without issue - it still has the problem.