Sharpening Ball-nose

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
Clockman
Vectric Craftsman
Model of CNC Machine: Home made/Linear rails/1605 Screw-drive

Sharpening Ball-nose

Post by Clockman »

Hi, does anyone know if I can get tapered ballnose cutters sharpened in the UK, I have some Whiteside and Yonico 1/16 inch cutters that need the tip sharpening, the Whiteside bits are over £50 each so not cheap to keep replacing

GEdward
Vectric Craftsman
Model of CNC Machine: 24 X 36 3 Axis

Re: Sharpening Ball-nose

Post by GEdward »

I have had some experience with a couple of tool and cutter grinders sharpening end mills; one being a manual K O Lee grinder and the other a CNC. The geometry of a tapered ball nose end mill is pretty complex and when you get down that small the set up time alone would make it cost prohibitive IMHO.
I use small tapered ball nose quite a lot and I don't pay near that much for them. I have had good luck with the inexpensive Chinese carbide products which run about $25 for a 5 pack. If you are willing to try a metric equivalent they can be had even cheaper. Take a look at this variety pack as an example: https://www.amazon.com/Package-Assorted ... 05&sr=8-13

Ed

TReischl
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 48X36X7 RP 2022 UCCNC Screenset

Post by TReischl »

+1 on GE's suggestion.

Been using them for a few years now and am completely happy with them. What I really like is that they are so inexpensive it is easy to have several spares on hand.

I run a porter cable router for a spindle. I finally bought metric collets for it so I could use the inexpensive metric bits. Since I am an old curmudgeon it has taken me a while to transition into metric. It has been worth it. I still run the machine in imperial units though. Just do not feel like fiddling around getting everything reconfigured. That is what is another nice feature of Aspire, we can use metric tooling and run in imperial units.