VCarve Pro v10.5 3D color problem

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
John E

VCarve Pro v10.5 3D color problem

Post by John E »

Hello,

I'm new to the Vectric/VCarve software. I'm attaching a file of a simple coaster that has some info engraved in it. My plan is to first engrave the wood. I would then stain the top surface with a darker color. The final step would be to skim about 0.015" off the top to remove the stain in the unengraved portion.

I want the lettering to be colored brown in the 3D view, but I want the skim coat to show in just the material color (actually not shown when the 3D preview is complete). I've scoured numerous forums and FAQ sections and found others have the same issue. However, all the solutions I've found apply to versions 8.5 or 9 and don't seem to work in v10.5. I understand that the solution is probably associated with layers, but I've had no success trying to attach colors to individual toolpaths/layers.

I'm now wondering if this is a bug in v10.5. I'm hoping that someone here, using v10.5, could look at the attached file. If there is a way to achieve the colors I want, please do me the favor of listing the steps you used to achieve my goal. Please don't just "fix" the file and return it to me. Thanks, everyone, for your help.
Attachments
3D color issue.crv
(717 KiB) Downloaded 53 times

scottp55
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: ShopbotDesktop 5.5"Z/spindle/VCP11.5

Re: VCarve Pro v10.5 3D color problem

Post by scottp55 »

Welcome John:)

That file was written in trial version....so no one can read it except you on your computer.
Pretty good description, but maybe some screenshots will help others to visualize it better.
scott
I've learned my lesson well. You can't please everyone,so you have to please yourself
R.N.

John E

Post by John E »

Thanks, Scott. :) Maybe the stupid issue is related to the trial version (ugh). Attached is a screenshot of the coaster I mentioned earlier.
Attachments