Toolpath Copy

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
Post Reply
User avatar
Tex_Lawrence
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 11:30 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3 XXL
Location: Dayton, Texas (Don't Mess With My Texas!)

Toolpath Copy

Post by Tex_Lawrence »

Is there really no way to copy/export a toolpath to a different file in Vcarve Desktop? Many times I open another instance of Vcarve just to exactly copy parameters to a toolpath in a different file.

I've needed that quite a few times, but have been able to avoid it by putting custom items on different layers in the same file and using the same toolpath.

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10582
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Toolpath Copy

Post by Adrian »

Yes there is. Use the Save/Load toolpath template tools on the toolpath tab.

User avatar
Tex_Lawrence
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 11:30 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3 XXL
Location: Dayton, Texas (Don't Mess With My Texas!)

Re: Toolpath Copy

Post by Tex_Lawrence »

Thanks. Guess I thought that was for something else! 😁

User avatar
Tex_Lawrence
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 11:30 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3 XXL
Location: Dayton, Texas (Don't Mess With My Texas!)

Re: Toolpath Copy

Post by Tex_Lawrence »

Wait a minute ... I don't have a Toolpath/Template on my Vecarve Desktop. Now that I get to my machine, I find it in the help docs under Desktop, but there's no icon in my editor.

Is this for Pro only?

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10582
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Toolpath Copy

Post by Adrian »

Sorry about that. I checked the product pages first and they said desktop had them - https://www.vectric.com/products/vcarve-desktop

Only way to do it without them is to save a copy of the file with the toolpaths you want in it and then load as that the new session so you're basically using the whole file as a template.

User avatar
Tex_Lawrence
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 11:30 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3 XXL
Location: Dayton, Texas (Don't Mess With My Texas!)

Re: Toolpath Copy

Post by Tex_Lawrence »

Got this from Vectric ...
Adam Moran (Vectric Ltd.)

May 18, 2020, 7:39:42 AM GMT

Hello,

Our deepest apologies; I am afraid toolpath templates are not available in VCarve Desktop as per the comparison table at the bottom of https://www.vectric.com/products

I have let the web team know that the product description page incorrectly says toolpath templates are available so it can be corrected.

Regards,

Adam Moran

Vectric Ltd | Precision House| 2 Arden Road
Alcester | Warwickshire | B49 6HN | United Kingdom

kstrauss
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 187
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 3:37 am
Model of CNC Machine: Tormach PCNC770
Location: Cobourg, ON, Canada

Re: Toolpath Copy

Post by kstrauss »

For a somewhat painful workaround using the non-Pro version:
Create your new VCarve file

Use File/Export/Export Vectors to save all vectors in your new project

Open the old .CRV file that contains the desired toolpaths

Select everything and press DELETE

Use File/Import/Import Vectors to input the new drawing (saved earlier)

Bring up each toolpath and assign it to the details of the new drawing

Save your .CRV with a new name.

User avatar
Tex_Lawrence
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 11:30 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3 XXL
Location: Dayton, Texas (Don't Mess With My Texas!)

Re: Toolpath Copy

Post by Tex_Lawrence »

kstrauss wrote:
Sun May 24, 2020 1:53 am
Use File/Export/Export Vectors to save all vectors in your new project
There is no "File/Export/Export Vectors" in Vcarve Desktop, but there is SVG, ect.

But, I get your drift where the actual drawing vectors will now be imported into a project with the toolpaths already installed.

That could be a way to get where I want, until I can upgrade to Pro.

Thanks!

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10582
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Toolpath Copy

Post by Adrian »

Tex_Lawrence wrote:
Sun May 24, 2020 2:24 pm
kstrauss wrote:
Sun May 24, 2020 1:53 am
Use File/Export/Export Vectors to save all vectors in your new project
There is no "File/Export/Export Vectors" in Vcarve Desktop, but there is SVG, ect.

But, I get your drift where the actual drawing vectors will now be imported into a project with the toolpaths already installed.

That could be a way to get where I want, until I can upgrade to Pro.

Thanks!
That's the same in Pro. There is no export level menu, it's just straight into the file type.

The procedure is basically the same as I suggested a few posts earlier. There's no need to export the vectors. You can import vectors directly from a VCarve file, you don't need to export as a intermediate format first.

User avatar
Tex_Lawrence
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 11:30 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3 XXL
Location: Dayton, Texas (Don't Mess With My Texas!)

Re: Toolpath Copy

Post by Tex_Lawrence »

Adrian wrote:
Sun May 24, 2020 5:07 pm
You can import vectors directly from a VCarve file, you don't need to export as a intermediate format first.
Good to be reminded of that, Adrian. Thanks!

Post Reply