New tool database: Can't set an end mill to zero RPM

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
Post Reply
Mikehell
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 191
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 9:34 pm
Model of CNC Machine: eBay special China 3040

New tool database: Can't set an end mill to zero RPM

Post by Mikehell »

So far I'm digging the new tool database. However, I can't figure out how to input my marker. I have this adapter thingamajig that holds a mini sharpie, so I can draw a grid on my spoilboard. If I set it to be an end mill (like in previous versions) it will not let me set to 0 RPM. For some reason, if I set it to a diamond drag bit, it won't let me choose the bit for a profile tool path.

Also, what but type do I use for a drag knife?

cusoak
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3D XXL

Re: New tool database: Can't set an end mill to zero RPM

Post by cusoak »

Why do you care about router rpm,s if that is what you mean,I would not think you need to turn the router or spindle even on. I assume you did a file to create the grid ifso just set the tip of the marker to your bed lightly and run the program with the router

Jeff turned off

Mikehell
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 191
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 9:34 pm
Model of CNC Machine: eBay special China 3040

Re: New tool database: Can't set an end mill to zero RPM

Post by Mikehell »

cusoak wrote:
Sat Mar 07, 2020 2:24 pm
Why do you care about router rpm,s if that is what you mean,I would not think you need to turn the router or spindle even on. I assume you did a file to create the grid ifso just set the tip of the marker to your bed lightly and run the program with the router

Jeff turned off
Not all of us use a router. A spindle doesn't have an on/off switch.

So far, I've just modified my GCode and added an M05

User avatar
Jim_in_PA
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 3:24 am
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger II SR-44 (MacOS user)

Re: New tool database: Can't set an end mill to zero RPM

Post by Jim_in_PA »

You can use a modified post processor that disables turning on the spindle...that's what's often used for drag knives, etc., for the same reason you'd want to use it for a sharpie marker for drawing.

User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3957
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: GCnC/WinCNC
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Contact:

Re: New tool database: Can't set an end mill to zero RPM

Post by Rcnewcomb »

Just specify it as a diamond drag bit. That allows the RPM to be set to zero, and you can specify the line width of your marker. No need for a custom post-processor.
DiamondDrag.PNG
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out
another good day in the shop

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10582
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: New tool database: Can't set an end mill to zero RPM

Post by Adrian »

You can't use a diamond drag with a profile toolpath though.

Mikehell
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 191
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 9:34 pm
Model of CNC Machine: eBay special China 3040

Re: New tool database: Can't set an end mill to zero RPM

Post by Mikehell »

Adrian wrote:
Sat Mar 07, 2020 7:07 pm
You can't use a diamond drag with a profile toolpath though.

BINGO! that's the problem!

User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4795
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha
Location: Brunswick, GA
Contact:

Re: New tool database: Can't set an end mill to zero RPM

Post by mtylerfl »

Mikehell wrote:
Sat Mar 07, 2020 8:39 pm
Adrian wrote:
Sat Mar 07, 2020 7:07 pm
You can't use a diamond drag with a profile toolpath though.

BINGO! that's the problem!
Can't you use the Quick Engrave Toolpath set to Outline in order to draw with your pen? (with your zero rpm diamond drag tool selected, of course)
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC

Post Reply