Stars sizing

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
rfilzen
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2020 1:31 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Bob's E4

Stars sizing

Post by rfilzen »

HELP just starting and trying to make flag ,the stars are bigger from botton to top of flag . I imported a bit map and look fine on Vcarve preview .What can i Do frustrated .Ruined two flags i made so far after putting stars on.Seem to be getting bigger or maybe just deeper as i move up bottom room to top.

User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2951
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Stars sizing

Post by highpockets »

I'd recommend using Jim's US Flag Gadget http://forum.vectric.com/viewtopic.php? ... lag+gadget
John
Maker of Chips

rfilzen
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2020 1:31 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Bob's E4

Re: Stars sizing

Post by rfilzen »

Thank You , will give it a try :D

User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2951
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Stars sizing

Post by highpockets »

If you just want to learn how to make your own US Flag from scratch here's a good website to calculate the proportions https://www.inchcalculator.com/american ... alculator/
John
Maker of Chips

rfilzen
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2020 1:31 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Bob's E4

Re: Stars sizing

Post by rfilzen »

I only have v carve desktop not pro so this starmaker does not install

User avatar
scottp55
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3574
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 11:30 am
Model of CNC Machine: ShopbotDesktop 5.5"Z/spindle/VCP10
Location: Kennebunkport, Maine, US

Re: Stars sizing

Post by scottp55 »

"Seem to be getting bigger or maybe just deeper as i move up bottom room to top."

Kinda hate to mention it, but is spoilboard recently skimmed?
Is material flat in relation to the router/spindle....and Flat on spoilboard?

Just thinking while taking first sips of coffee.
Stars should not be changing shape if preview looks good.
scott
"One accurate measurement is worth a thousand expert opinions"

GMH


scott

User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2951
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Stars sizing

Post by highpockets »

I think Scott has hit on it, sorry I was reading this as a design issue not a machining issue.

If the surface of your material isn't perfectly flat then any carving you do will have uneven depths. You might try surfacing the material prior to carving.
John
Maker of Chips

rfilzen
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2020 1:31 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Bob's E4

Re: Stars sizing

Post by rfilzen »

spoilboard level and flat ,i'm now thinking it was oversized a bit and i might have stretch just one side.On preview didnt see a difference.But at least 1/8 bigger and deeper and not as sharp of points.Will try again latter today.

User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2951
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Stars sizing

Post by highpockets »

Spoilboard may be just fine, but if the material is not flat it will produce the problem you described.
John
Maker of Chips

rfilzen
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2020 1:31 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Bob's E4

Re: Stars sizing

Post by rfilzen »

Ran spoilboard surface this morning and it was level but surfaced to make sure .Still getting same results,V bit has did 3 hrs so relatively
new all soft wood (pine)

ger21
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1540
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Custom DIY
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA
Contact:

Re: Stars sizing

Post by ger21 »

If you don't see it in the Preview, then it's an issue with the machine, stock, or setup. Perhaps the machine is losing position and cutting deeper?
Gerry - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com

rfilzen
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2020 1:31 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Bob's E4

Re: Stars sizing

Post by rfilzen »

My G code program is very glitchy locks up Have to restart program .Tried to get a screen shot of program on post but don’t know how.Thinking maybe should have not started this adventure.Losing all free time trying to figure out.Is there a
G code program that you use on windows 8 and works good?

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10228
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Stars sizing

Post by Adrian »

What controller program are you using at the moment?

rfilzen
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2020 1:31 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Bob's E4

Re: Stars sizing

Post by rfilzen »

Univeral g-code Sender platform 2.0

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10228
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Stars sizing

Post by Adrian »

Have you tried the vTransfer program that comes with VCarve? Not 100% sure if it works with your setup as I don't have much experience with these "three stage" systems that are around these days but it was designed to replace g-code senders type programs.

Post Reply