Project speed

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
Raider
Model of CNC Machine: Cnc 3018 pro

Project speed

Post by Raider »

Question. I bought a shapeoko xxl and I'm running vcarve desktop. Everything turns out fine BUT I'm having an issue with my project time. I make sports logos on mdf 2x2 feet big. I'm using a 60 degree V bit. My projects are taking 20 hrs for a simple logo. Is this normal? Do I have to change something in my tool settings? I'm.not gonna lie, I dont understand a lot of the tool data base stuff....pls help

gkas
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Aspire, Axiom AR8 Pro+, Axiom 4.2W Laser

Re: Project speed

Post by gkas »

An example would help. Are you doing a Vcarve? Are you clearing large areas with the vbit? Are you using larger clearance tools (bits)? What is the Depth of Cut per pass of the vbit?

Raider

Post by Raider »

I'm just learning. My depth is 1/8 ". No clearance tool cause the one I'm working on the N and Y for the Yankees. I'm using a vcarve/engrave toolpath

joejinky
Vectric Apprentice
Model of CNC Machine: Samson 510 CNC Plasma Table

Post by joejinky »

You probably have the step over distance set too small.

Joe
http://flic.kr/s/aHsk7y47ff

gkas
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Aspire, Axiom AR8 Pro+, Axiom 4.2W Laser

Post by gkas »

If you're clearing large areas with a vbit, then you NEED to be using a larger clearance tool. The vbit needs a small stepover to keep your vcarve from having lots of noticeable ridges. The clearance bit will clear out all of the larger areas.

This sign only takes 1.5 hours to carve, with extensive removal of background.
Pitmaster_preview.jpg
Joe BBQ_2.zip
Zipped crv file
(1.88 MiB) Downloaded 68 times

ezurick

Post by ezurick »