Setting efficient cut paths

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
aowood
Model of CNC Machine: Shop Bot

Setting efficient cut paths

Post by aowood »

Hello!

I have been using vcarve for about 3 years, mostly self-taught or from watching videos or reading tips. I have made numerous versions of this file and I am considering offering them online; however, I have an issue. I am an efficiency nut (possibly some sort of undiagnosed condition) so I am looking for help in this area. I understand there is a difference in the estimated time of this project (~30mins) vs the actual cut time (~1.5 hours) and I believe the program chooses the most efficient path, please correct me if I'm wrong.

The help I'm really looking for is ideas to clean up the image maybe or otherwise adjust things so the cut time speeds up which obviously will speed my production and make it more feasible to offer to a wider audience. The machine wants to cut a bit at the top, then move to the bottom or side then back, here and there, etc. which seems to not be the best. I appreciate any help or critique!
Attachments
Zahir Zip.zip
(2.01 MiB) Downloaded 85 times

highpockets
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Setting efficient cut paths

Post by highpockets »

Don't see much of a way to increase efficiency. Can you cut more than one at a time? Maybe use Array Copy Toolpath.

If you have VCP v10, my one suggestion for cleaning up the badge a bit will actually cost more machine time, but will produce a cleaner badge. Use Clearance Tool (I used 1/8") on the V-Carve Toolpath.

Nice badge by the way....
Attachments
Image 710.png
John
Maker of Chips

ezurick

Post by ezurick »