Need to control speed of Z Axis before and after a cut

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
blain1976
Model of CNC Machine: Joes Hybrid CNC R&P

Need to control speed of Z Axis before and after a cut

Post by blain1976 »

Hello,

I have been using and enjoying V-Carve pro for several years now, but there is one thing that I need to see if it's possible to control because without it, I run the risk of ruining my work.

My Z-Axis has trouble moving up at a fast rate of speed. It will lose its position if it tries to go too fast. Otherwise, it is ok. For example, before a cut, if it tries to go from 0.00 to .800 inches above the work piece, it goes up too fast and will lose its position. If I set the default to be .25 inches above the work piece, it is usually ok. Another alternative is that I can manually move the Z up before starting the toolpath and it will be fine as well.
However........If during the toolpath,it needs to go up fast, it will lose position and ruin my work. Also, a lot of times at the end of the cut, it will go up fast to clear the work and will sometimes ruin my work.
Is there any way at all to control the speed of the Z-Axis at the beginning and end of cuts as well as during a cut when it shoots back up to clear the piece? The default that it is at now, is just too fast for my machine, but if I could control this, then I would be perfectly happy.

I have adjusted the settings in the material setup and I have adjusted the plunge rate for each bit, but these are not the settings that I need to adjust. (Or these are not helping me with this problem).

I am using V Carve Pro 7.514
If this is solved in a later release that would help me also. I just need to know.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Rcnewcomb
Vectric Archimage
Model of CNC Machine: 24x36 GCnC/WinCNC with ATC

Re: Need to control speed of Z Axis before and after a cut

Post by Rcnewcomb »

This is better handled in your control software.