Help with 3D rough pass

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
Post Reply
bbowers12
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2019 2:31 am
Model of CNC Machine: piranha xl

Help with 3D rough pass

Post by bbowers12 »

When I start cutting this out after zeroing every thing the cut start the roughing pass about 1/4 down. So on 3/4 inch material I end up with 1/4 left by the time all passes happen. The top of the 3d rope is 1/4 below the surface of the initial wood. On the preview the image does not show this. Any suggestions on what I am doing wrong. I wanted it to

image1.PNG
image2.PNG
image3.PNG

User avatar
Phil
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2473
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 10:56 pm
Location: Pittsfield, MA

Re: Help with 3D rough pass

Post by Phil »

From the Toolpaths page open up the material setup page. You may have a Gap Above Model set to a higher dimension than intended.

Phil
Attachments
Aspire setup.JPG

SteveNelson46
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 800
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 2:43 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger using WinCNC
Location: Tucson, Az.

Re: Help with 3D rough pass

Post by SteveNelson46 »

At the top of the toolpath menu click on the "Set" button and check where the model is positioned in the material.

EDIT: Phil types faster than me.
Attachments
Model Position.jpg
Steve

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10551
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Help with 3D rough pass

Post by Adrian »

Shouldn't that show in the preview though?

bbowers12
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2019 2:31 am
Model of CNC Machine: piranha xl

Re: Help with 3D rough pass

Post by bbowers12 »

Thanks All, I ended up deleting those 2 tool paths and recreating them. That seemed to do the trick only after I messed up a good piece of cherry.

Post Reply