vcarve toolpath issues

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
cbbo
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3 XXL

vcarve toolpath issues

Post by cbbo »

I'm running V-Carve Pro 10.011, using the Shapeoko 3 (mm) post-processor with Carbide Motion and a Shapeoko 3 XXL. I'm relatively new to CNC and CAM and have done a couple projects - but this is the first issue I've run into that I can't figure out.

When setting up V-Carve toolpaths, I'm seeing my corners stretched out. It seems to only manifest in larger (therefore deeper) vectors, or vectors where I specify a flat depth. Here is an imgur album with some captions, mostly the same that I've stated here: https://imgur.com/a/vb7I3dV

The first pic is the project where I first ran into this. I was using an 1/8th inch clearing pass with my 60 degree 1/2 inch v bit. The vector is "inverted" so the v-carve path is "outlining" the shapes. I noticed the corners looked terrible and were rounded out on any shape where the bit is reaching the flat depth.

So then I ran some tests to check my v-bit degree, varying the degrees in the tool setup and cutting in various situations. Everything turned out OK except for the toolpaths that had a flat depth (column 2 and 4).

Then I ran a test with varying flat depths set on the exact same shape (including a "control" with no flat depth). However this time I realized I had sized the vectors larger than my previous test, and now the issue was apparent in nearly every shape. So I decided to ignore the flat depth part of this for now and just did a test with only the size of the shape being different, and you can see how it gets worse and more noticeable the larger the shape.

Anyone have any ideas what could be causing this? Is it user error and I'm using these toolpaths incorrectly, or is it possible this is some bug with the way V-Carve Pro and the Shapeoko 3 post processor handle these types of toolpaths? I'll gladly share the files for the tests I did.

sharkcutup